CPL Qualifier 2 – Barbados Tridents V Trinbago Knight Riders – Fantasy Preview

Who will face Warriors in CPL19 final?


Barbados Tridents

Barbados heads into this second qualifier with a distinct-advantage over their opponents, and it’s one that many teams would like heading into a match as important as this one. In their two previous meetings this season, the Tridents have prevailed in both games which should definitely give them some added confidence. With that said, the CPL heads to Trinidad & Tobago which happens to be the Knight Riders home ground. It came as no surprise that Guyana went straight through to the final after winning the first qualifier at Providence Stadium, the Tridents were simply no match for the undefeated-Warriors. Barbados has been thrown a lifeline though, and they can’t afford to waste it again. The bowling didn’t go down well for them, just about everyone who was handed the ball copped the full treatment from Brandon King and co. It was a dirty day for the likes of Shakib Al Hasan, Harry Gurney and Raymon Reifer, Hayden Walsh Jr on the other hand still picked up 2/42 despite going for plenty of runs. It’s hard to see it worrying Barbados though, up until that game against the Warriors Harry Gurney had been brilliant in the death overs, while Raymon Reifer also chipping in with some handy overs. They don’t have to change much, they were just beaten by the better team on the day. The return of Shai Hope is a huge added-bonus to the Tridents batting joining Shakib Al Hasan and JP Duminy in the top-middle order. While Alex Hales continues to slowly-improve, their lower order featuring Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse and Jason Holder are contributing some valuable runs at the back end of the innings. Can they make it a clean sweep against Trinbago in CPL19?

Trinbago Knight Riders

The reigning CPL champions haven’t been anywhere near what they were able to achieve last season, yet they could potentially be playing in the final against Guyana in a couple days time. It’s crazy, Trinbago comes into this second qualifier having lost four of their past six games in the tournament. Back-to-back titles in the CPL isn’t even in the conversation at this point given their poor-form guide, yet in this topsy-turvy format of the game anythings possible. Consecutive-wins is a start, and if anyone’s going to challenge the Warriors for the title it has to be the Knight Riders. Sunil Narine was superb in his return for Trinbago, 2/10 off his four overs plus a quick-fire start with the bat saw him awarded player of the match. Overseas-specialist Chris Jordan finally produced when it mattered, claiming the two vital wickets of Brathwaite & Allen for the Patriots in his spell of 3/30 off four overs. A handful of their bowlers come into this next match with some wickets under their belts, something that’s been a bit out of the ordinary for them this season. It was extremely-pleasing to see the senior players take the reins in the run-chase as well, Lendl Simmons got things started with a half century and then handed things over to Denesh Ramdin and Kieron Pollard who scored the remaining required runs. The skipper (Pollard) didn’t take his time either, blasting a 9-ball 26 to see the Knight Riders home. One man who’s no stranger to the big occasions is Colin Munro, he hasn’t quite lived up to his potential in CPL19 but nevertheless could be on the verge of something big.

Denesh Ramdin of Trinbago Knight Riders hits 4 during the Hero Caribbean Premier League Play-Off match 31 between of St Kitts and Nevis Patriots and Trinbago Knight Riders at Guyana National Stadium on October 6, 2019 in Providence, Guyana. (Photo by Randy Brooks – CPL T20/CPL T20 via Getty Images)


Barbados Tridents

  • Hayden Walsh Jr
  • Johnson Charles
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Harry Gurney
  • Alex Hales

Wildcard pick – Shai Hope

Trinbago Knight Riders

  • Lendl Simmons
  • Sunil Narine
  • Colin Munro
  • Chris Jordan
  • Kieron Pollard

Wildcard pick – Darren Bravo


Barbados Tridents (possible) – 1. Johnson Charles (wk) 2. Alex Hales 3. Shakib Al Hasan 4. Shai Hope 5. JP Duminy 6. Jonathan Carter 7. Jason Holder (c) 8. Ashley Nurse 9. Raymon Reifer 10. Hayden Walsh Jr 11. Harry Gurney.

Trinbago Knight Riders (possible) – 1. Lendl Simmons 2. Sunil Narine 3. Colin Munro 4. Darren Bravo 5. Denesh Ramdin (wk) 6. Kieron Pollard (c) 7. Seekkuge Prasanna/James Neesham 8. Chris Jordan 9. Khary Pierre 10. Ali Khan 11. Akeal Hosein.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six − 4 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top