CPL Match 24 – St Lucia Zouks V Jamaica Tallawahs – Fantasy Preview

Zouks fight for survival continues…


St Lucia Zouks

After the Barbados Tridents recent upset against the Trinbago Knight Riders, all of a sudden St Lucia find themselves in a must-win encounter against the bottom team in CPL19. The Zouks were never expected to beat the undefeated-Amazon Warriors, and as it turns out they didn’t really put up a great fight in the end as Guyana chased down their total only two wickets down. Big-hitting Kiwi all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme gave St Lucia something to defend, he was the rock at No. 4 scoring 65 which included five maximums to go along with his three boundaries. Andre Fletcher and Colin Ingram both got starts but failed to convert, somewhat of a trend for St Lucia’s batsmen in the tournament. Their bowlers were also well & truly beaten hands down by Guyana’s batsmen, Brandon King dispatched them with utter-disdain. Leggy-Fawad Ahmed and Kesrick Williams were once again the pick of the bowlers, and despite only taking one wicket between them, they were economical unlike the rest of St Lucia’s attack. The decision to bowl Chris Barnwell really did put the final nail in the coffin, 21 runs off 6 balls put them out of the contest completely. Perhaps the most disappointing of them all was Rahkeem Cornwall who failed to ground his bat in what was a bemusing-run out, skipper Darren Sammy was absolutely livid. Experienced Windies T20 bowler Krishmar Santokie has been drafted into the squad for Obed McCoy. After the bowling display they just recently dished up, it would come as no surprise if Santokie was straight into the XI.

Jamaica Tallawahs

An opportunity to get off the bottom of the CPL19 standings could be Jamaica’s ticket out of what has been a horror-tournament. Definitely one of the favorites coming into the tournament with a star-studded squad at their disposal, the Tallawahs have just failed to deliver in 2019. Superstar-opener Chris Gayle’s form with the bat has just about tailed off into oblivion, and injuries to two of their most-destructive middle-order batsmen in the squad just tops off a forgettable-campaign. Wicketkeeper-batsman Glenn Phillips has just about top scored in every game for Jamaica this season! Phillips is the CPL’s leading run-scorer in 2019 with 330, the next best for Jamaica is Chris Gayle who’s scored just 9 runs in his last three games. Without Powell and Dre Russ in the middle-lower order, the Tallawahs have had to scrounge for runs which hasn’t been pretty. It’s desperate times for the Tallawahs, so much so that they’ve signed Bangladeshi Liton Das who is expected to feature in tomorrow’s game at Gros Islet. Kiwi all-rounder George Worker has struggled to make his presence felt in Jamaica’s middle-order, so a change was probably required. Getting plenty out of Dwayne Smith with the ball but not necessarily with the bat, their batting line-up has basically been made up of all-rounders and pinch-hitters from No. 4-down. Having said that, it didn’t seem to go so badly against the Tridents as Shamar Springer (3/32) , Imran Khan (3/19) and Dwayne Smith  (2/22) all impacted the contest with the ball. Can the Tallawahs kill off St Lucia’s finals aspirations?

Glenn Phillips of Jamaica Tallawahs hits 4 during match 20 of the Hero Caribbean Premier League between Barbados Tridents and Jamaica Tallawahs at Kensington Oval on September 23, 2019 in Bridgetown, Barbados. (Photo by Randy Brooks – CPL T20/Getty Images)


St Lucia Zouks

  • Fawad Ahmed
  • Colin Ingram
  • Andre Fletcher
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Kesrick Williams

Wildcard pick – Krishmar Santokie

Jamaica Tallawahs

  • Chadwick Walton
  • Chris Gayle
  • Dwayne Smith
  • Shamar Springer
  • Glenn Phillips

Wildcard pick – Liton Das


St Lucia Zouks (possible) – 1. Andre Fletcher (wk) 2. Rahkeem Cornwall 3. Colin Ingram 4. Colin de Grandhomme 5. Chris Barnwell 6. Darren Sammy (c) 7. Kavem Hodge/Roland Cato 8. Hardus Viljoen 9. Krishmar Santokie 10. Kesrick Williams 11. Fawad Ahmed.

Jamaica Tallawahs (possible) – 1. Chris Gayle 2. Glenn Phillips (wk) 3. Chadwick Walton (c) 4. Liton Das 5. Dwayne Smith 6. Trevon Griffith/Javelle Glen 7. Imran Khan 8. Shamar Springer 9. Ramaal Lewis 10. Oshane Thomas/Derval Green 11. Zahir Khan.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 − 9 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top