Two teams which involved in the historical first ever Super Over in the Pakistan Super League last weekend, Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars meets once again in the first match of today’s double-header. Match 18 between Islamabad United vs Lahore Qalandars is schedule to start at 3:30 PM Local | 5 PM IST today.



With 3 wins out of 5 matches, Islamabad United is sitting at no. 5 in the points table just ahead of their opponent for today Lahore Qalandars. As only 5 more matches are left to play, Misbah and his men needs to win as much as they can to book a birth in playoff. The big blow was the injury of Andre Russell and he has been ruled out for remainder of the tournament. Back-to-back wins in last two games makes United as the favorite and they have to bring their best to gain another win against Qalandars. Finally, Luke Ronchi had play an explosive knock when he smashed 71 runs off 37 balls against Karachi Kings in the last game. JP Duminy opened the innings along with Ronchi in the last game to score an unbeaten 43 runs. Duminy scores runs every time but he score at poor run-rate. Those will be change at some stage of the tournament, possibly today will be his day. As no Andre Russell, United might add more power to their bowling unit by bringing back pacer Steven Finn or by giving the first chance to Samuel Badree. Islamabad United’s middle-order filled with talented Pakistan domestic players like Asif Ali, Hussain Talat and Sahibzada Farhan. All three of them are expecting to retain their places. Skipper Misbah-ul-Haq should score runs at better strike-rate in crucial time of the innings. All-rounder Samit Patel had bowl a superb spell of 3 for 17 against Qalandars in the last meet-up. Hopefully, he will offer the similar spell once again and also do some damage with a bat as well. The bowling all-rounder Shadab Khan has claimed only a wicket in 5 matches so far. He bowls a decent economical spells but he should start to pick more wickets to assure team’s place in Playoff. Faheem Ashraf came back to his bowling form with a spell 3 for 23 against Kings few nights ago. He also proves his batting skills earlier in the tournament. Mohammad Sami is the real strength of this bowling attack and his experiences would come into play once again.



Qalandars nightmare continuing for third season in a row. Brendon McCullum led-side had faced 5 straight defeats so far. Every time the top-order provides a good start for Qalandars but poor batting in middle and lower-order thrash the momentum and keep the team on losing side. It will be a high-time for Qalandars to give back wicket-keeper duties to Umar Akmal and drop Denesh Ramdin from the XI. Anton Devcich and Cameron Delport are much needed to taste some success in the season. Mustafizur left for the national duty, therefore Mitchell McCleneghan will replaces Mustafizur from here on. The team relying a lot on Fakhar Zaman’s batting at top of the order. He offered a good start in the last game but failed to score big runs. He is expect to go for some big runs at some stage of the tournament, may be that will happen today. Agha Salman had a very good game against United last time, hope for some more runs from him today as well. Nothing working out for skipper Brendon McCullum. He used to play his part somehow well but failed in winning matches as captain. Sunil Narine did not pick wickets at regular intervals. He bowled well economical spells in last two matches but remained wicket-less in both games. He should bat in middle-order and put up some quick fireworks to take team to good total. Yasir Shah is the best wicket-taking bowler of Qalandars this season, hope for some good show from him again today.




  • JP Duminy
  • Luke Ronchi
  • Asif Ali
  • Hussain Talat
  • Shadab Khan
  • Mohammad Sami
  • Faheem Ashraf

Top Pick – Samit Patel



  • Brendon McCullum
  • Agha Salman
  • Sunil Narine
  • Cameron Delport
  • Umar Akmal
  • Yasir Shah
  • Mitchell McCleneghan

 Top Pick – Fakhar Zaman




1. Luke Ronchi, 2. Sahibzada Farhan, 3. JP Duminy, 4. Samit Patel, 5. Asif Ali, 6. Misbah-ul-Haq, 7. Hussain Talat, 8. Shadab Khan, 9. Faheem Ashraf, 10. Mohammad Sami, 11. Steven Finn / Samuel Badree.


1. Brendon McCullum, 2. Fakhar Zaman, 3. Agha Salman, 4. Cameron Delport, 5. Umar Akmal, 6. Sunil Narine, 7. Sohail Akhtar / Aamer Yamin, 8. Sohail Khan, 9. Yasir Shah, 10. Salman Irshad / Imran Khan Jr., 11. Mitchell McCleneghan.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × five =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top