SL v IND v BAN - T20


Sri Lanka’s 70th Independence Special tri-nation T20I series called Nidahas Trophy starts with curtain raiser between Sri Lanka and India. Sri Lanka returned to form by defeating Bangladesh across formats recently while India won two limited overs series title on their recent tour of South Africa. Which team will start the tournament with the win? The first match between Sri Lanka vs India is schedule to start at 7 PM Local | 7 PM IST on Tuesday, 6th March 2018.



The confidence rehired when Sri Lanka won all three titles on their recent tour of Bangladesh. Now, the home team in need to maintain that momentum by performing well in this shorter format tournament. Dinesh Chandimal is the captain of Sri Lanka and his captaincy was one of the major reason for their success in Bangladesh. As wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella not picked for this series, Kusal Perera set to take back his wicket-keeper role after long time. Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Mendis were done a great job in both T20I matches against Bangladesh couple of weeks ago. Kusal Mendis who had played a massive knocks in both of those matches will retain his place at opener’s spot. Gunathilaka also contributed with scores 30 and 42 respectively. So, he also expected to keep the spot in the XI. But as Kusal Perera is back in the squad, Gunathilaka possibly go back to middle-order and Kusal Perera would open the innings. The most experienced top order batsman Upul Tharanga used to bat at no. 3 for Sri Lanka in this format and that trend would continue.

Chandimal had promoted All rounder Dasun Shanaka up in the order against Bangladesh and Shanaka responded well with a very quick knocks of 42* and 30* respectively. Therefore, he might keep that spot at no. 4 in this series too. The skipper Dinesh Chandimal sent all other batsmen above him in the series against Bangladesh and gave all chances possible to his teammates. He is very good batsman but he has to prove at shorter format as he didn’t shine for long time. All-rounder Thisara Perera was the star of Sri Lanka limited overs series against Bangladesh last month. He used to concede runs with a ball but he was in top form with a bat. If he gets a good day then he will take his team home. The returned back Jeewan Mendis has played his first international series in 3 years and with his good show against Bangladesh retained his spot in the squad for this Nidahas Trophy. No surprise if he perform well and pick wickets quickly in this game. Akila Dananjaya is there in the squad to keep the opposition in pressurize situation with his mystery spin. As top pace bowlers Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep made their return to the squad, other pace bowers would make a way for their senior bowlers. Both Isuru Udana and Shehan Madushanka are expect to be dropped on the expense of Pradeep and Lakmal.



After the successful limited overs series tour of South Africa, Team India set to play their last series before the IPL season. Indian team traveled with the regular captain Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav and pace duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah. Lot of young players earned their opportunities to represent the country and all of them are looking forward to perform well on this tour. On the absence of Kohli, his deputy Rohit Sharma takes the responsibilities of captaincy and Shikhar Dhawan will do a role of vice-captain. Both Shikhar and Rohit are regular openers of the team and they will continue the same in this series too. Shikhar Dhawan was on song in each and every innings of South Africa tour and he is set to deliver the same against Sri Lanka too. Rohit had a lot of tough times in South Africa and played only one big knock in 9 limited overs innings. As a captain, he needs to step up and perform for the team.

Suresh Raina made a successful return with his consistent batting performances in the T20I series against South Africa and he is ready to contribute for the team once again. Manish Pandey also had a good series against South Africa recently and he is expected to take forward his good performances against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh as well. There are two wicket-keeper batsmen in the squad, they are Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik. The young and explosive Rishabh Pant deserves an opportunity, at the same time an experience of Dinesh Karthik also comes in to the account. Therefore, both of them has a chance to take a part in the XI. KL Rahul is the third opener and he is expect to wait for his turns. Three all-rounders Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda and Washington Sundar will fight for one spot in the XI. All three of them are uses to bat in middle-order. Vijay Shankar offers medium pace while both Hooda and Sundar offers an off-spin. As the team has enough of spin options, they might go with Vijay Shankar in this game. Yuzvendra Chahal who had an amazing ODI series and mixed T20Is on the tour of South Africa, set to take care of spin department with his leg-spin. The left-arm spinner Axar Patel who warmed the bench for long time will earn his opportunity in this game. On the absence of Bhuvneshwar and Bumrah, IPL top sell Jaydev Unadkat will lead the pace attack. Either Mohammad Siraj or Shardul Thakur will take a second pace bowler place in the XI.




  • Kusal Perera
  • Upul Tharanga
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Dasun Shanaka
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Suranga Lakmal

Top Pick – Thisara Perera



  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Manish Pandey
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Jaydev Unadkat
  • Vijay Shankar

Top Pick – Suresh Raina




1. Kusal Mendis, 2. Kusal Perera, 3. Upul Tharanga, 4. Danushka Gunathilaka, 5. Dinesh Chandimal, 6. Dasun Shanaka, 7. Thisara Perera, 8. Jeevan Mendis, 9. Akila Dananjaya, 10. Suranga Lakmal, 11. Nuwan Pradeep / Dushmantha Chameera.


1. Rohit Sharma, 2. Shikhar Dhawan, 3. Suresh Raina, 4. Rishabh Pant, 5. Manish Pandey, 6. Dinesh Karthik / Deepak Hooda, 7. Vijay Shankar, 8. Axar Patel, 9. Jaydev Unadkat, 10. Yuzvendra Chahal, 11. Shardul Thakur / Mohammad Siraj.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × two =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top