AUS v NZ v ENG - T20


Countries down-under, Australia and New Zealand are joint hosts for the upcoming Twenty-20 International Tri-Series featuring Australia, New Zealand and England. Australia hosts first set of 3 matches and New Zealand will host second part of 3 matches along with the Final. The home team Australia meets New Zealand in the 1st clash of the series. The 1st match between Australia vs New Zealand is schedule to start at 7:20 PM Local | 1:50 PM IST on Saturday, 3rd February 2018.



The regular skipper Steven Smith rested for this shorter format tri-series and on his absence, his deputy David Warner will lead the team. Warner who has won IPL title under his leadership in 2016, definitely has lot of challenges ahead of him at the moment. The left-hand batsman Travis Head was released from the squad to play BBL Semi-Final for his team Adelaide Strikers. He will re-join Australia squad on match day morning. The big hitting experienced opener Aaron Finch is not available for this game as he is not get full fitness yet. The big hitting batting all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and Chris Lynn are a part of Australia’s squad. Emerging stars who were performed so good in the ongoing BBL, D’Arcy Short, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis and Billy Stanlake all are waiting to make their international appearances. Strikers wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey scored too many runs for Adelaide team in the BBL this year and he is set to make his debut in T20 International. D’Arcy Short also had an amazing Big Bash season and he smashed a century and also scored 90+ runs twice in the season for Hurricanes. Either Carey or Short will open the innings for Australia along with skipper Warner.

The star batsman David Warner had a poor run during the recent ODI series against England and he is under big pressure to get his form back. He has scored only 73 runs in 5 matches in that ODI series. T20 specialist Chris Lynn regained his fitness which ruled him out from ODI squad recently. Batting friendly Sydney track would help him to go for some big hits in this match. Another big hitter Glenn Maxwell finally has a chance to prove his value in the Australian camp after those continue omissions in this summer. All rounder Marcus Stoinis played a very good innings in the last ODI match and his all-round efforts will come into play in this game for Aussies. The left-arm spin all-rounder Ashton Agar had a very good season with Perth Scorchers where he claimed a tally of 8 wickets and also scored 149 runs with a bat. His spin option will play a crucial role in SCG. The home advantage will give an opportunity to the hometown guy Ben Dwarshuis also had a good season in BBL. Australia’s pace attack looks strong with BBL performers like Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson and Billy Stanlake. Tye just grabbed his maiden five wickets in the last ODI while Richardson had taken 7 wickets in his last two BBL appearances. Adam Zampa, the leg-spinner will get a company of Ashton Agar in the spin department.



After long successful home season, New Zealand faced back-to-back losses in last two T20Is against Pakistan last week. Because of those losses, Kiwis side lost that T20I series and also no. 1 rankings to Pakistan. Without their firing opener Colin Munro, New Zealand struggled a lot with a bat in the final T20I on Sunday. Munro is back in the squad for this Saturday clash against Australia and that would be a big boost for the Black Caps. Kane Williamson led-side has a chance to reclaim their no. 1 spot in the ICC T20I team rankings by performing well in this tri-series. Skipper Williamson’s form was the biggest worrying thing in the series against Pakistan. The opening batsman Martin Guptill played well in the last match and back to form with a fine half-century. According to NZC’s twitter handle, Munro did a good job in the net and he is ready to play this game. So, he will open the innings along with Guptill. Munro played for Sydney Sixers last year and that would help him to do well at SCG. Williamson will go back to his regular position at no. 3 and expecting some good batting show from him as well. The experienced Ross Taylor and Tom Bruce will strengthen middle-order batting. Taylor played well in that quick knock off 25 off 11 balls against Pakistan on Sunday. Hopes for some more big hits from him on Saturday. Tom Bruce is an handy batsman at no. 4 but he failed to play big innings in many matches.

All rounder Colin de Grandhomme, the big hitter has a big role to play in the second half of the batting innings and his quick scoring will come into play in batting friendly SCG track. He also very handy with a ball and there won’t be any surprises if he pick 2 or 3 wickets for his team. Tom Blundell has replaced the out-of-form Glenn Phillips in the last game against Pakistan and he has been picked for this match too. The spin duo of bowling all-rounder Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi will play a tricky role in this game. As per the ICC’s latest T20I bowlers rankings, the left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner took over the top spot from his partner Ish Sodhi and the duo stays at no. 1 and 3 respectively. Anaru Kitchen who replaced Munro in the last game, might get another opportunity and this time he has a chance to replace Tom Bruce. Because his part-time spin option would be a key at SCG. New Zealand traveled with four pace bowlers, they are Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Ben Wheeler and Seth Rance. Both Ben Wheeler and Rance were omitted for the last match against Pakistan and that may continue in this game as well. Boult and Southee are their front-line bowlers and they have a job to do against the power-hitting Australian side.




  • David Warner
  • Chris Lynn
  • D’Arcy Short
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Kane Richardson
  • Andrew Tye

Wild Card Pick – Alex Carey



  • Colin Munro
  • Martin Guptill
  • Kane Williamson
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Trent Boult

Wild Card Pick – Ross Taylor




Travis Head will join the squad, initially he released from the squad as he is not in frame of playing XI. But, his amazing performance for Strikers might help him to play this game.

1. David Warner, 2. D’Arcy Short, 3. Chris Lynn, 4. Alex Carey, 5. Glenn Maxwell, 6. Marcus Stoinis / Travis Head, 7. Ashton Agar, 8. Ben Dwarshuis, 9. Kane Richardson, 10. Andrew Tye, 11. Adam Zampa.


1. Martin Guptill, 2. Colin Munro, 3. Kane Williamson, 4. Ross Taylor, 5. Tom Bruce / Anaru Kitchen, 6. Colin de Grandhomme, 7. Tom Blundell, 8. Mitchell Santner, 9. Tim Southee, 10. Ish Sodhi, 11. Trent Boult.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

14 − ten =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top