Team India’s tour of South Africa reached the final phase when two teams faces each other in a three match T20 international series later this week. Both teams has revealed their respective squads for this shorter format series which begins on 18th February. On the absence of South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis, the experienced batting all-rounder JP Duminy has been appointed as the captain for T20I series. Team India set to play once again under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.


South Africa brought in lot of new players to their squad for this three match series. Wicket keeper Batsman Heinrich Klaasen who is doing well in the ongoing ODI series, gets his place in T20I series as well. After performed well in the Ram Slam domestic T20 competition, Junior Dala and Chris Jonker earned an opportunity to represent national team for the first time. An explosive batsmen AB de Villiers and David Miller retains their places in the squad meanwhile Hashim Amla omitted from the squad along with an injured Quinton de Kock. Farhaan Behardien who sits in the bench in the ongoing ODI series, expected to play a key role in T20I series. Brilliant Ram Slam season brings Reeza Hendricks to the national squad after very long time. The batting all rounder JJ Smuts also coming back to T20I squad after sometime gap while Chris Morris and Andile Phehlukwayo are other all rounders in the squad. South Africa has two left-arm spinners in the squad and they are Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso.


Team India has announced 16-man squad for the upcoming series and they have a well mixed of young and experienced players in their group. Lokesh Rahul who returned back to home after test series will join the team again for the shorter format series and he will replaces Ajinkya Rahana from the ODI squad. Limited overs specialist Suresh Raina coming back to Blue jersey after quite long time. The biggest buy among Indian players in this year IPL Auction, Jaydev Unadkat retains his place in the T20I squad based on his good performances in the series against Sri Lanka back in December. India continue to go with good top order batting unit which contains skipper Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik. As usual MS Dhoni will take care of wicket-keeper’s duty and also batting in middle-order. Hardik Pandya keeps his place as a specialist all-rounder despite his poor performances on the tour. Wrist spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav once again in the squad to threaten the opposition and they have a company of Axar Patel again. The front-line pace bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah are in the squad and they will continue to put pressure on South Africa with their experiences in the format.




  • JP Duminy
  • Farhaan Behardien
  • Junior Dala
  • AB de Villiers
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Christiaan Jonker
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • David Miller
  • Chris Morris
  • Dane Paterson
  • Aaron Phangiso
  • Andile Phehlukwayo
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • JJ Smuts



  • Virat Kohli
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Lokesh Rahul
  • Suresh Raina
  • MS Dhoni
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Manish Pandey
  • Axar Patel
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Jaydev Unadkat
  • Shardul Thakur


The 1st match of the upcoming three match series to be played on coming Sunday, February 18, followed by 2nd and 3rd match on 21st and 24th February respectively.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × two =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top