The most thrilled test series in recent times were over and now two teams South Africa and India begins another thriller in the form of limited overs series. Six match ODI series kicks off in Kingsmead, Durban with the first match. The 1st ODI between South Africa vs India schedule to start at 1 PM Local | 4:30 PM IST on Thursday, 1st February 2018.



The home team South Africa lost the 3rd and final test last week, but they sealed the series 2-1. Now, focus shifts on to the ODI format and Proteas set to start their limited overs season in Durban on Thursday. In their most recent ODI series, South Africa whitewashed Bangladesh and won all three matches with huge margins. But, the World No. 1 ODI team knew that they are facing the strong Indian side in the series and they are well prepare for the challenge ahead. The star player, Mr. 360 AB de Villiers has been ruled out for the first 3 ODIs with a finger injury. This will shake South Africa’s confident a bit but skipper Faf du Plessis confirmed that test opener Aiden Markram will replaces AB de Villiers at no. 4. The regular openers in the ODI format, Hashim Amla and Quinton de Kock will open the innings in this series too. Both of them struggled for a form in the test series, Amla somehow managed to score 3 half-centuries in 6 innings but De Kock scored only 71 runs in 6 innings. Wicket keeper-batsman was not in a great form during the domestic T20 competition Ram Slam T20 Challenge too. De Kock scored a total of 287 runs in 3 matches in the ODI series against Bangladesh in October last year. There are some hope for him to be in the form as ODI format begins.

Skipper Faf du Plessis will come back to no. 3 batting position in the format. He had some decent outings in the test series, except for last test. On the absence of ABD, Du Plessis work-loads are little higher now. Aiden Markram has played only one ODI till date and he scored 66 runs off 60 balls and also picked 2 for 18 in 3 overs with his part-time off-break. Markram maintains an average of 43 in his list A and that shows us how good he is in limited overs format. The regular middle-order players, all-rounder JP Duminy and David Miller will keep their places in the XI. Duminy had a good form in the domestic one-day and T20 tournament while Miller also had a decent run in those competitions. Both are ready to take care of middle-order batting in this game.

All-rounders Chris Morris and Andile Phehlukwayo are in the squad and they will take a place at no. 7 and 8 in the batting order respectively. Morris has established as an all-rounder in recent years and some of the ODI matches on his own for South Africa. He is back in the squad after long time and once he get going, he will give so many fantasy points with both bat and ball. Andile Phehlukwayo is the regular member of South Africa XI in both ODI and T20Is. He will take care fifth bowler role along with lower-order batting. There will a debate for one spot and it between the experienced Morne Morkel and Lungi Ngidi, who looking to make a debut in ODIs. The bowling sensation Kagiso Rabada will play a huge role in the first power-play and has a chance to claim 3 wickets in this game. Imran Tahir, the no. 1 bowler in the ICC ODI rankings, will take a sole spinner role. That means, Tabraiz Shamsi will warm the bench. No wonder if Khaya Zondo comes into middle-order batting by replacing David Miller, because he is hometown boy and has played so many matches at this ground.



The world no. 2 in the ICC ODI rankings, Team India has a good chance to claim the no. 1 spot if they win this ODI series. Currently, India is just one rating point short of South Africa and a good performances in this away series will help to go top. India have won all of their ODI series which they have played after Champions Trophy final, last year. Now, Virat Kohli led-side has a biggest challenge ahead of them as they are facing Proteas at their own yard. Rohit Sharma who was criticized during the test series, will be back to the opening slot as the ODI format begins. The only batsman in the world who has scored double century thrice in limited overs cricket, Rohit has a role to play and in need to prove that he could do well in South Africa too. Shikhar Dhawan will be back in the XI and will open the innings with Rohit Sharma. Dhawan did a very good job in England during the Champions Trophy and now he has a point to prove that he could bat well not only England, in South Africa too. Skipper Virat Kohli generally bats at no. 3 in the ODI format and he will take a position once again.

Shreyas Iyer used to bat at no. 3 in the previous ODI series against Sri Lanka and he did a good job as well. But, India would prefer the experienced player like Ajinkya Rahane in this series. Rahane who was dropped for the first two tests, got lot of support from fans and legends to get back a place in the test squad. He proved that how valuable player he is in the overseas and that will help him to take a place at no. 4 in the batting order. If he gets a place, he will a play role of game changer for India. Team India’s middle order look settles with MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav and Hardik Pandya. Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik also in the squad, but Kedar Jadhav’s part-time bowling become handy in the middle-overs and we all witnessed that in the previous overseas series.

The experiences of wicketkeeper-batsman MS Dhoni will play a big role, he also has a point to prove on his finishing skills in the end overs. All Rounder Hardik Pandya started the test series with a bang but ended it with poor form. Hopefully, he will back to a fine form with both bat and ball in this game. India has a decision to make whether they want to play with sole spinner or two. If they play with two specialist spinners, then duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav will get a game. If prefers to go with one spinner, then Chahal has an upper hand over Axar and Kuldeep. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah are India’s first choice pace options in the limited overs cricket and they will continue their good work once again. In case, India go with three specialist pace options, then Mohammad Shami will also get a game.




  • Hashim Amla
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Aiden Markram
  • JP Duminy
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Chris Morris
  • Imran Tahir

Wild Card Pick – Faf du Plessis



  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Virat Kohli
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Yuzvendra Chahal

Wild Card Pick – Ajinkya Rahane




1. Hashim Amla, 2. Quinton de Kock, 3. Faf du Plessis, 4. Aiden Markram, 5. JP Duminy, 6. David Miller / Khaya Zondo, 7. Chris Morris, 8. Andile Phehlukwayo, 9. Kagiso Rabada, 10. Morne Morkel / Lungi Ngidi, 11. Imran Tahir.



1. Rohit Sharma, 2. Shikhar Dhawan, 3. Virat Kohli, 4. Ajinkya Rahane, 5. Kedar Jadhav / Manish Pandey, 6. MS Dhoni, 7. Hardik Pandya, 8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9. Kuldeep Yadav / Mohammmad Shami, 10. Jasprit Bumrah, 11. Yuzvendra Chahal.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × 3 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top