Squads Announced for India vs Sri Lanka T20Is!

Sri Lanka tour of India shifting gears to the most exciting format of the game Twenty-20 International series (T20Is). The host came back hard and won three match ODI series on Sunday and looking confident ahead of shorter format series. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka has an agony of winning at least one series on the tour. Both cricket boards BCCI and Sri Lanka Cricket has been announced their respective squads for the three match series which begins in Cuttack on coming Wednesday.


Team India will play under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma in this series too. Indian selectors has made a plenty of changes to T20 squad compare to the ODI squad. Youngsters who were impressive during IPL earlier this year, earns their chances to wear National jersey. Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Siraj, Basil Thampi and Jaydev Unadkat added to the squad along with Washington Sundar. After played the debut international match last week, Washington Sundar set to make his debut in T20 format too. He was actually added to T20I squad alone, but Kedar Jadhav’s injury opened the door for Sundar in recently concluded ODI squad.

The top-order energetic batsman KL Rahul makes his return to the squad after missed out for ODI series. The player of the series award winner in ODIs, Shikhar Dhawan rested for this series and that may help KL Rahul to open the innings along with Rohit. Two back-to-back half-century holder in the last two ODIs, Shreyas Iyer gets a chance to be in India’s T20I squad for a second straight time. The experienced players in T20 format Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik retains their places safe while the veteran MS Dhoni will continue to keep the wickets behind the stumps. All-rounder Hardik Pandya is one of the must suitable player for this format and he could explodes at any time. Limited overs spin specialists of Team India in recent times Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav keep their places safely.

The pace attack will be led by Jasprit Bumrah – the no. 1 T20I bowler in the world. Pace unit contains players like Jaydev Unadkat, Basil Thampi and Mohammad Siraj. Unadkat has featured in 7 ODIs and 1 T20I for India and he will make his second debut to the International arena with this series.


Cricket Sri Lanka has rested their most experienced pace bowler Lasith Malinga for this series. Lots of debates on Malinga’s form and his exclusion for this series but it seems selectors shown lot more interest on shaping up young players. Thisara Perera who led T20 squad in the series against Pakistan in UAE and also the ODI series against India will lead the side in the series as well. Upul Tharanga who played significantly well in the last ODI, will continue to offer good show for his team. The former captain Angelo Mathews was back in form with both bat and bowl and that adds so much of energy to the group.

The explosive opener Kusal Perera was overlooked during the ODI series but the hard-hitting batsman has a fair chance to play in this T20 series. Danushka Gunathilaka and Sadeera Samarawickrama are other specialist batsman in the side. Niroshan Dickwella will continue to take care of wicket-keeping duties along with playing key knocks for the team. Batting all-rounders Asela Gunaratne and Chaturanga de Silva retains their places in the squad. All-rounder Dasun Shanaka was very impressive during the test series and he makes his return to the squad with this series.

The spin department has two unique bowlers Akila Dananjaya and Sachith Pathirana. Both of them were played all three ODI matches last week but based on the format Pathirana has a chance to make a way for extra seamer or batting all-rounder in this series. The in-form pacer Suranga Lakmal rested for this shorter format series and on his absence Nuwan Pradeep will lead the attack. Dushmantha Chameera and Vishwa Fernando are other two specialist pacers in the team.




  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Lokesh Rahul
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Manish Pandey
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • MS Dhoni
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Washington Sundar
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Deepak Hooda
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Basil Thampi
  • Jaydev Unadkat



  • Thisara Perera (Captain)
  • Upul Tharanga
  • Angelo Mathews
  • Kusal Perera
  • Danushka Gunathilaka
  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Asela Gunaratne
  • Sadeera Samarawickrama
  • Dasun Shanaka
  • Chaturanga de Silva
  • Sachith Pathirana
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Vishwa Fernando



Matches                                                 Date & Venue                                                                     Time

1st T20I                               – Dec 20 at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack                                  – 7 PM Local | 1:30 PM GMT

2nd T20I                             – Dec 22 at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore                        – 7 PM Local | 1:30 PM GMT

3rd T20I                              – Dec 24 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai                            – 7 PM Local | 1:30 PM GMT



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × five =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top