India Test Squad for the upcoming South Africa Series!

After completing the busiest home season of 2017/18, Team India ready to begin their overseas tour of South Africa. Almost two months trip contains 3 tests, 6 ODIs and 3 T20 Internationals. As the proceedings starts with test series on January 5, 2018, BCCI has confirmed 17-man India test squad for the upcoming three match series.

The captain of the team Virat Kohli is back to the side after his wedding holidays. Kohli was rested for a recent limited overs series against Sri Lanka at home. As he is back, he takes a charge of captain’s duty and will lead the side on this tour. Team India set to travel South Africa with a heavy batting unit. Seven specialist batsmen are in the squad which includes Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma and the skipper Virat Kohli.

All three openers were in a fine form during the series against Sri Lanka. KL Rahul proved talents in the recently concluded T20I series as well. Except for Ajinkya Rahane, all other batsmen had a good test series against Sri Lanka. Rahane who generally do a great job on overseas, expecting to do well in South Africa too. Team India has two specialist wicket-keepers in the squad. The regular wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha has a company of Parthiv Patel. Saha will be the first choice wicket-keeper, but Parthiv Patel’s experiences may give him a chance at some stage of the tour.

The hard-hitting all-rounder Hardik Pandya cemented his place in the team across formats in 2017. As he bowls seam bowling, he has a big role to play in seam-friendly South Africa tracks. The spin duo Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are back in the squad. The prime spinners had a tough outings outside Asia and they have lot of things to prove on this tour. If Ashwin and Jadeja comes good with a ball, that will affect the opposition for sure.

BCCI has decided to send 5-man pace options for this test series in South Africa. The regular members of test squad Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma were named in the squad along with Jasprit Bumrah who await to make a test debut. After served a lot for Team India in both ODIs and T20 formats for past two years, Jasprit Bumrah earned a maiden call-up to the test squad. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami and Ishant Sharma all done well in the test series against Sri Lanka last month and all of them had a good match practice ahead of tough South Africa tour.



  • Virat Kohli (Captain)
  • Murali Vijay
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Lokesh Rahul
  • Cheteshwar Pujara
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Wriddhiman Saha
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Parthiv Patel
  • Jasprit Bumrah



Matches                                                Date & Venue                                                                   Time

1st Test                             – Jan 5-9, 2018 at Newlands, Cape Town                              – 10:30 AM Local | 2:00 PM IST

2nd Test                           – Jan 13-17, 2018 at SuperSport Park, Centurion                – 10:00 AM Local | 1:30 PM IST

3rd Test                            – Jan 24-28, 2018 at The Wanderers, Johannesburg         – 10:00 AM Local | 1:30 PM IST




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × three =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top