The season – 7 of Australia’s own Twenty 20 league, Big Bash League 2017/18 kick starts grand on December 19. As usual the same eight teams Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder are participating in it. This tournament kick start with the traditional Sydney Smash between both Sydney based teams. We gives you the squad list of all eight teams here.



All other teams has announced their full squad lists while Adelaide Strikers has been announced only 14 players till now. Generally, each team will has 18-man squad, so Strikers are expected to sign remaining players in the upcoming days. Travis Head will lead Strikers in this year competition. Afghanistan spin machine Rashid Khan and South African batsman Colin Ingram are the overseas signings this year. Ish Sodhi is expected to join as the overseas replacement later in the tournament (if needed).


  • Travis Head (Captain)
  • Wes Agar
  • Alex Carey
  • Jono Dean
  • Colin Ingram (Overseas)
  • Ben Laughlin
  • Jake Lehmann
  • Rashid Khan (Overseas)
  • Michael Neser
  • Liam O’Connor
  • Peter Siddle
  • Billy Stanlake
  • Jake Weatherald
  • Jonathan Wells



Brisbane Heat has finalized their squad well before than other teams. Former New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum is the captain of the side once again and his team has lot of talented players. Chris Lynn who missed so many days of 2017 with shoulder injury, eyeing Heat’s season opener to make his return. He took Heat to play-offs single-handedly last year, hopefully will do the same this year too. Apart from McCullum, Pakistan’s young spin export Shadab Khan is the other overseas contracted player of Heat. Another Pakistan spinner Yasir Shah has been signed in as a overseas replacement.


  • Brendon McCullum (Captain, Overseas)
  • Max Bryant
  • Joe Burns
  • Ben Cutting
  • Brendan Doggett
  • Jason Floros
  • Cameron Gannon
  • Sam Heazlett
  • Shadab Khan (Overseas)
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Josh Lalor
  • Chris Lynn
  • Jimmy Peirson
  • Matt Renshaw
  • Alex Ross
  • Mitchell Swepson
  • Mark Steketee
  • Cameron Valente
  • Yasir Shah (Overseas replacement)



It wasn’t a great season for Hobart Hurricanes last year and they finished at second bottom of the points table. Hobart Hurricanes best achievement was Runner-up in 2013/14 season. The experienced batsman and former Australian captain George Bailey is the captain of Hurricanes. England T20 specialist bowler Tymal Mills will fulfill overseas quota along with young all-rounder from West Indies Jofra Archer. Hurricanes has signed batsman Nathan Reardon recently and with that they have finalized their squad.


  • George Bailey (Captain)
  • Tim Paine
  • Dan Christian
  • Hamish Kingston
  • Cameron Boyce
  • Clive Rose
  • Ben McDermott
  • Jake Reed
  • Simon Milenko
  • Tymal Mills (Overseas)
  • Tom Rogers
  • Sam Rainbird
  • D’Arcy Short
  • David Moody
  • Jofra Archer (Overseas)
  • Matthew Wade
  • Riley Meredith
  • Nathan Reardon



Melbourne Renegades didn’t qualify for Final Four last year and concluded the season with 5th rank in the table. Aaron Finch led-side initially retained both of their overseas signings Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine. But Narine has been withdrawn from the tournament due to personal reasons recently, Renegades signed Afghanistan all-rounder Mohammad Nabi as a replacement for Narine. West Indies Kieron Pollard also joins the squad as a overseas replacement and he will be effective when it needed.


  • Aaron Finch (Captain),
  • Dwayne Bravo (Overseas)
  • Tom Cooper
  • Marcus Harris
  • Brad Hodge
  • Brad Hogg
  • Jon Holland
  • Tim Ludeman
  • Joe Mennie
  • Mohammad Nabi (Overseas)
  • James Pattinson
  • Kieron Pollard (Overseas replacement)
  • Kane Richardson
  • Matt Short
  • Will Sutherland
  • Chris Tremain
  • Guy Walker
  • Beau Webster
  • Cameron White
  • Jack Wildermuth



Melbourne Stars eyes on their first title once again as they knocked out in semi-final last year. Stars has appointed all-rounder John Hastings as a captain for the upcoming season. Kevin Pietersen and Luke Wright continues as an overseas players of Stars and both former England players playing for a Stars for 3rd straight year. Glenn Maxwell, Ben Dunk, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa and Scott Boland are other important players in the squad.


  • John Hastings (Captain)
  • Michael Beer
  • Scott Boland
  • Jackson Coleman
  • Ben Dunk
  • James Faulkner
  • Seb Gotch
  • Evan Gulbis
  • Peter Handscomb
  • Sam Harper
  • Ben Hilfenhaus
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Kevin Pietersen (Overseas)
  • Rob Quiney
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Dan Worrall
  • Luke Wright (Overseas)
  • Adam Zampa



Three times champions in 6 years, Perth Scorchers are defending champions as well. As usual former Austalian batsman Adam Voges will lead the squad this year too. David Willey retained his contract with Scorchers and for a surprise he is the only overseas signings of Scorchers this year. Former Australian speedster Mitchell Johnson played for Scorchers last year and he will continue this year too.


  • Adam Voges (Captain)
  • Ashton Agar
  • Cameron Bancroft
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Hilton Cartwright
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Cameron Green
  • Josh Inglis
  • Mitchell Johnson
  • Michael Klinger
  • Mitch Marsh
  • Shaun Marsh
  • Joel Paris
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Ashton Turner
  • Andrew Tye
  • Sam Whiteman
  • David Willey (Overseas)



The runner-up of last year Sydney Sixers were the first title winner in BBL history. They have qualified for final twice in last 3 seasons, but lost to Scorchers in both occasions. Moises Henriques will continue as the captain of the team and he is under doubt for the season opener as he recovering fitness currently. Sixers retained the English pair Sam Billings and Jason Roy as the overseas contracts. Both of them will leave Sixers once the ODI series begins in January. Sixers yet to sign the overseas replacement.


  • Moises Henriques (Captain)
  • Sean Abbott
  • Sam Billings (Overseas)
  • Jackson Bird
  • Johan Botha
  • Ben Dwarshuis
  • Mickey Edwards
  • Jack Edwards
  • Daniel Hughes
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Nic Maddinson
  • Peter Nevill
  • Steve O’Keefe
  • Jason Roy (Overseas)
  • Jordan Silk
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Henry Thornton



The title winners of 2015-16 season Sydney Thunder finished bottom of the table on their title defending season last year. Former Australian All-rounder Shane Watson leads the Thunder nation this year and he has lot of talented in the squad. Thunder signed England wicket keeper Jos Buttler and New Zealand Mitchell McClenaghan to fulfill the overseas quota. It seems Eoin Morgan also in the squad, he may joins the squad as the overseas replacement.


  • Shane Watson (Captain)
  • Fawad Ahmed
  • Aiden Blizzard
  • Jos Buttler (Overseas)
  • Pat Cummins
  • Callum Ferguson
  • Ryan Gibson
  • Chris Green
  • Liam Hatcher
  • Jay Lenton
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Mitchell McClenaghan (Overseas)
  • Arjun Nair
  • Clint McKay
  • Kurtis Patterson
  • Ben Rohrer
  • Gurinder Sandhu



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − ten =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top