After concludes the test series, Sri Lanka begins their limited overs series against the host India in Dharamsala on Sunday. The fighting spirit of the visitors in the last test in Delhi would help them ahead of the one-day international series. The home side India will play under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma for the first time as Virat Kohli rested. The first ODI between India vs Sri Lanka scheduled to start at 11:30 AM Local | 6 AM GMT on Sunday, 10th December 2017.



Team India won the test series 1-0 under the regular captain of Virat Kohli. But as he is rested for the limited overs series, his deputy Rohit Sharma takes a charge as captain. India has made few changes to their ODI series comparatively to their last ODI series against New Zealand. Shreyas Iyer who made his debut in T20 format recently, earned the call-up to ODI squad as well. Pace bowler Siddharth Kaul is the other who got a maiden call to the national team. Rohit Sharma will open the innings along with his regular partner Shikhar Dhawan again. Both batsmen in a fine form for a months now. Rohit Sharma played well in the recent test series and scored 102*, 65 and 50* respectively in three innings he played. On other side, Dhawan continues a good form since Champions Trophy in June. He also expected to play big knocks in this three-match series. Ajinkya Rahane faces a tough time of his career after scoring only 17 runs in 5 innings in test series. The vice-captain of test side has been named in the ODI squad and hopefully he will get a game on Sunday. Remember he smashed 4 half-centuries each against both West Indies and Australia this year.

If Rahane replaces Kohli’s place in the XI, then Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey will fight for one place in the XI. Possibly Shreyas Iyer get a chance as everyone trust him as a future of Indian cricket. Meanwhile, Kedar Jadhav who are the regular member of India’s ODI squad throughout this year back in the squad too. His explosive batting in middle and end overs and also part-time bowling are strengths of him. He is expected to be in the playing XI on Sunday. Former captain MS Dhoni will do gloves work behind the stumps and also will take care of middle-order batting too. Dinesh Karthik is the back-up wicket keeper, but he has a chance to play as a specialist batsman in this game. All-rounder Hardik Pandya was withdrawn from the original test squad as he requested for some rest. Now he is back in the squad and he will play a key role with both bat and bowl. Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, left-arm spinners Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav are back to the limited overs squad again. The trio has done a good job in ODI matches in recent months. As the leg-spinner Chahal will play this game as a first choice and he will get a company of either Axar or Kuldeep. The front-line pace options Jasptit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are in the squad and will play mighty role in the bowling departmetn. Bhuvneshwar Kumar missed out in the last two test squad due to his wedding and now he is back in the team after well deserved time-off. One of the best depth bowler in the world Bumrah has to play a big role in this Dharamsala track. Siddharth Kaul might need to wait for his debut.



The performances on the final day of third test would boost Sri Lankan side ahead of their tough phase format in 2017. Sri Lanka lost ODI series to Zimbabwe, India and Pakistan in last few months and notably they faced whitewash against India and Pakistan. Cricket Sri Lanka has appointed all-rounder Thisara Perera as the captain for both ODI and T20I series on the tour. The Lankans approaches this series four left-handed openers, such as Upul Thranga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Perera. Among four of them the man in form Niroshan Dickwella and Danushka Gunathilaka are expected to open the innings for the team on Sunday. Gunathilaka was in fine form in his recent stint in BPL. Dickwella continuously contribute with a bat across formats. Upul Thranga is expected to bat at no. 3 or 4 in this game. He also played a good knocks in the BPL tournament recently, hopefully, the former captain will play more freely and score lot of runs for his team on Sunday. Lahiru Thirimanne was dropped in the last test due to his poor shot selection in second test. Thirimanne was in good touch against India in the last ODI series in August, so he has a chance to get a game as well.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews played as a specialist batsman in the test series. But he is expected to contribute with both bat and bowl in this ODI series. Therefore you will earn more points if he is available to bowl. The batting all-rounder Asela Gunaratne who missed several months of cricket due to injury concerns regained full fitness and ready to play in the series. He is one of the strong performer of Sri Lanka in past 18 months and he will be in the XI on Sunday. Sadeera Samarawickrama has got enough chances on the tour against Pakistan and also in the test series against India. But he did not utilize the opportunities as expected, so his chances are fading away. The impressive show of Dhananjaya de Silva on the final day of last test, will help him to get a place in the XI. He scored a match-saving 119 not out and drawn the test for his team. The off-spinner Akila Dananjaya and Sachith Pathirana are specialist spinners in the side. Among them, Akila is the front-line option and he will play this game. Pathirana’s chances are on the hands of team combination for this game. Pace bowler Nuwan Pradeep has recovered from the injury and he is all set to go along with Suranga Lakmal. Both of them are important bowlers of Sri Lanka and will play a good role in this first ODI on Sunday.




  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • MS Dhoni
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Jasprit Bumrah



  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Danushka Gunathilaka
  • Upul Tharanga
  • Angelo Mathews
  • Asela Gunaratne
  • Thisara Perera
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Suranga Lakmal




1. Shikhar Dhawan, 2. Rohit Sharma, 3. Ajinkya Rahane / Manish Pandey, 4. Shreyas Iyer, 5. MS Dhoni, 6. Kedar Jadhav, 7. Hardik Pandya, 8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9. Axar Patel / Kuldeep Yadav, 10. Jasprit Bumrah, 11. Yuzvendra Chahal.


1. Niroshan Dickwella, 2. Danushka Gunathilaka, 3. Upul Tharanga, 4. Lahiru Thirimanne / Dhananjaya de Silva, 5. Angelo Mathews, 6. Asela Gunaratne, 7. Thisara Perera, 8. Akila Dananjaya, 9. Sachith Pathirana / Dushmantha Chameera, 10. Suranga Lakmal, 11. Nuwan Pradeep.




Anand Thiyagarajan

Cricket is what everyone loves. If you’re ready to play fantasy cricket but don’t know how to analyze players, consider his Articles as the foundation of your fantasy teams. Anand is a cricket blogger and fantasy cricket lover.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + seven =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top