Pakistan vs Sri Lanka – ODI Series – Squads Announced

Sri Lanka’s tour against Pakistan in U.A.E. continues with the five match ODI series which begins on 13th October in Dubai. The disappointing season of Sri Lanka came to an end with their test series win against Pakistan in the current tour. Pakistan, the Champions of Champions Trophy set to play their first ODI series since their triumph in Champions Trophy. Both Cricket Boards has announced their respective squads for this exciting series.



Sarfraz Ahmed, the full time captain of Pakistan will lead the team again and this will be his first series after that successful Champions Trophy. The spearhead Mohammad Amir was named in the original team, but after he injured in the second test few days ago, Usman Khan has named as a replacement. Pakistan is in position of winning the ODI series to compensate losses which they faced in test series.

Pakistan Cricket Board brought in their limited overs specialist batsmen Ahmed Shehzad, Fakhar Zaman, batting all rounders Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez. The batting sensation of Pakistan for an year or so, Babar Azam is in the squad as well. Apart from Babar, Haris Sohail is the other batsman who kept his place in the squad after an impressive performances in test matches. Imam-ul-Haq is the only new-comer into this batting department.

Captain of the side, Sarfraz Ahmed will continue to handle the wicket-keeper’s duties in the series and he also strengthen the batting in the middle-order. The young all rounder Shadab Khan is back in the squad along with the experienced Imad Wasim. Both of them has done so well with both bat and bowl in recent months for Pakistan and these two are the specialist spinners in this Pakistan squad.

Pakistan looking ahead for the series with the strong pace attack of Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees, Junaid Khan, Fahim Ashraf and Usman Khan. Junaid Khan is the most experienced campaigner in the above list, the back step for Pakistan as Mohammad Amir ruled out with an injury. Fahim Ashraf made his ODI debut against Sri Lanka in the Champions Trophy in June. Usman Khan is looking forward to make his debut in ODI format during this series.


  • Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain)
  • Ahmed Shehzad
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Babar Azam
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Imad Wasim
  • Shadab Khan
  • Fahim Ashraf
  • Hasan Ali
  • Rumman Raees
  • Junaid Khan
  • Haris Sohail
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Usman Khan



The breathtaking test series victory in the on-going tour in U.A.E. boosts up Sri Lanka squad ahead of the five match ODI series. After all those disappointing season back in home, Sri Lanka sealed test series 2-0 against Pakistan. Now, the leadership change hands from Dinesh Chandimal to Upul Tharanga as the ODI series to start. The limited overs captain Tharanga back in charge and his team has good mix of an experienced and young talents.

The in-form opener Niroshan Dickwella, Lahiru Thirimanne, test captain Dinesh Chandimal and Kusal Mendis were in the test squad and all four of them retained their spots in the ODI squad as well. The limited overs skipper Tharanga joins the group along with Chamara Kapugedera.

Thisara Perera, Milinda Siriwardena and Seekkuge Prasanna are limited overs specialist all rounders. Siriwardena had a good series against India back in home two months ago. Seekkuge Prasanna returning to the ODI squad for the first time in last 4 months. These three all rounders has big role to play in this five match series.

Akila Dananjaya who was the best bowler of Sri Lanka in their last ODI series against India, kept his place in the squad. He is an off-spinner, who could bat well in the lower-order. The leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay re-called to the ODI squad and he will accompany Dananjaya.

The experienced Suranga Lakmal will lead the pace attack on the absence of injured Lasith Malinga. The seaming unit contains Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera and Vishwa Fernando.


  • Upul Tharanga (Captain)
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Lahiru Thirimanne
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Milinda Siriwardana
  • Chamara Kapugedera
  • Thisara Perera
  • Seekkuge Prasanna
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Vishwa Fernando
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Jeffrey Vandersay.



Matches                                                  Date & Venue                                                                       Time

1st ODI                                 – OCT 13 at Dubai International Stadium, Dubai                        – 3 PM Local | 4:30 PM IST

2nd ODI                               – OCT 16 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi                           – 3 PM Local | 4:30 PM IST

3rd ODI                                – OCT 18 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi                           – 3 PM Local | 4:30 PM IST

4th ODI                                – OCT 20 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah                            – 3 PM Local | 4:30 PM IST

5th ODI                                – OCT 23 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah                             – 3 PM Local | 4:30 PM IST



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twelve + 12 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top