Ind vs Aus


As the ODI series got over, attention shifts to the shortest format of the game T20I series which starts in Ranchi on coming Saturday. The home side, Team India sealed five match ODI series by 4-1, now shifts their focus on this upcoming three match T20I series. Australia has lost the series, but they have an hope on comeback in the shortest format. Both Cricket Boards has announced their respective squads recently.



The veteran pacer Ashish Nehra makes his return to the International cricket once again as the selectors re-called him for the T20 series against Australia. The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced their 15-men squad for the series, which includes Shikhar Dhawan and Dinesh Karthik.

After winning the ODI series successfully, the captain Virat Kohli will lead the side in this exciting 20-20 overs series. Shikhar Dhawan who had missed recently concluded ODI series in order to attend to his unwell wife, back to the team in place of Rahane. Dhawan played the one-off T20I against West Indies earlier this year since India played that game with same 15-member squad which played in the ODI series on that tour, otherwise it is a comeback for the left-handed batsman in shortest format.

Ashish Nehra who played every game in the last bilateral T20I series against England in February, returns to the squad after missed out in those one-off T20I against both West Indies and Sri Lanka tour. Dinesh Karthik, the wicket keeper batsman is the other notable inclusion in the squad. Karthik will play in the series as a back-up wicket keeper for MS Dhoni.

With Dhawan back in the squad, India squad has 5 specialist batsmen Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Manish Pandey along with wicket keepers MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik. Kedar Jadhav who started the career as a specialist batsman, turned into an occasional wicket keeper later on. But, now he emerged himself as an batting all rounder and picks a wicket whenever he comes to bowl for Team India.

Hardik Pandya will be the lone specialist all rounder once again in the squad. He had a great outing in the ODI series and expecting similar performances in T20Is too. The selector has omitted Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami from T20Is once again, so the pace attack contains Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and the veteran Ashish Nehra.

The best spinners in test format, Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja still avoided in the shortest format, the squad remains with the youngsters Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel.


  • Virat Kohli (Captain)
  • Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain)
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • KL Rahul
  • Manish Pandey
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • MS Dhoni
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Ashish Nehra
  • Axar Patel



Pat Cummins who featured in the ODI series withdrawn from the T20I series as the selectors wants him to get ready for Ashes later this year. Cricket Australia named Andrew Tye, the pace-man from Western Australia as the replacement for Cummins. Other than the inclusion of Andre Tye, Cricket Australia has made few other changes in their 13-men T20I squad comparatively to the recently concluded ODI series.

The wicket keepers Mathew Wade, Peter Handscomb and an all rounders James Faulkner, Marcus Stoinis and Hilton Cartwright were not part of the T20Is. The all rounders Daniel Christian, Moises Henriques, the wicket keeper batsman Tim Paine and the left-arm pacer Jason Behrendroff are included in the 13-men squad.

Captain Steven Smith heading into the T20I series with an heavy lost in the ODI series on his back. He is under pressure of winning the T20I series to manages somehow from that ODI losses. His side has four specialist batsmen, includes David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith and Travis Head. Tim Paine will handle the wicket-keepers duty in the series.

Glenn Maxwell, the all rounder will have a company of Moises Henriques and the veteran Daniel Christian. All three of them are T20 specialist and Australian side get boost up with their presence. Adam Zampa is the lone specialist spinner in the squad who has huge amount responsibilities on him.

The Western Australia duo Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye and Jason Behrandroff will take care of the pacers job along with Kane Richardson.


  • Steven Smith(Captain)
  • David Warner
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Daniel Christian
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Aaron Finch
  • Travis Head
  • Moises Henriques
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Tim Paine
  • Kane Richardson
  • Adam Zampa
  • Andrew Tye



Matches                                           Date & Venue                                                                            Time

1st T20I                      – October 7 at JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi                      – 7 PM Local | 11:30 PM AEST

2nd T20I                    – October 10 at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati                 – 7 PM Local | 11:30 PM AEST

3rd T20I                     – October 13 at Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Stadium, Hyderabad              – 7 PM Local | 11:30 PM AEST





Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 + 17 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top