India Cricket

India squad announced for Sri Lanka tests!

As a part of the on-going home season, Team India will play test, ODI and T20I series against Sri Lanka after New Zealand series. Sri Lanka tour of India begins with the first test at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on 16th November. BCCI has named 16-men India squad for the first two tests of three-match test series.

As usual Virat Kohli is the captain for this squad and Team India squad has similar names comparatively to the last test against Sri Lanka in August. The opening batsman Murali Vijay is back in the squad and that’s the most notify inclusion in this squad. Vijay was a part of original test squad of Team India when they played against Sri Lanka in July-August. But he was ruled out ahead of the series due to a wrist injury and was replaced by Shikhar Dhawan.

Murali Vijay had played with a fractured wrist during the Australia Test series earlier this year and subsequently travelled to the UK for surgery which forced him to miss almost six months of his career. Currently, he is playing for Tamil Nadu in Ranji season and his current progress will play a key role in the test series against Sri Lanka.

Left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan retains his place in the test squad and he will give tough fight to Vijay to get a place in the XI. Plenty of half-centuries in tests in the current year helps KL Rahul to keep his place safe in the squad. The regular batsmen of test side, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane retains their places along with Rohit Sharma.

Wriddiman Saha is the specialist wicket keeper in the side and he will handle gloves work in the series. Top spinners of Team India, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja missed out in limited overs cricket, but they are back in the Test side. The young and emerging spinner Kuldeep Yadav, now the regular member in all format. He will play a role as a third spinner.

Indian pace attack looks solid with in-form Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma. Team India preferred the combination of Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav in test cricket in recent history. But with the form Bhuvneshwar has in for past few months will bring him into playing XI.



  • Virat Kohli (Captain)
  • Murali Vijay
  • KL Rahul
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Cheteshwar Pujara
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Wriddhiman Saha
  • R Ashwin
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Ishant Sharma



Matches                                                      Date & Venue                                                                Time

1st Test                                     – Nov 16 – 20 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata                            – 9:30 AM Local | 4 AM GMT

2nd Test                                   – Nov 24 – 28 at VCA Ground, Nagpur                              – 9:30 AM Local | 4 AM GMT

3rd Test                                    – Dec 02 – 06 at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi                          – 9:30 AM Local | 4 AM GMT





Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six − five =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top