England Cricket

England squad announced for The Ashes!

The most awaiting test series of the year, The Ashes kick starts in three weeks time and England team have already arrived in Australia. England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has named 16-men squad for this away series which led by Joe Root. England will play in this year Ashes without their prime all-rounder Ben Stokes.

Ben Stokes incident during the home series against West Indies took him out from the squad and he also faces suspension currently. After winning home test series against South Africa and West Indies respectively, captain Joe Root will lead the team for the time first time away from home. His team has well experienced batsmen and bowlers in right mix and also has new comers like Ben Foakes and Craig Overton.

Former Skipper Alastair Cook is the most experienced batsman in the squad. He is the most run scorer of England in test cricket. Apart from Cook and Root, England squad has batsmen like Gary Ballance, James Vince, Mark Stoneman and Dawid Malan. All four of them are future of England test batting lineup and will get their opportunities to cement a place in the XI.

Jonny Bairstow is the front-line wicket keeper in the squad. He has shown plenty of impressive performances during the home summer, now it’s time to prove a point in Australia. The uncapped Ben Foakes has named in the squad and will a role of back-up wicket keeper. The all-rounder Moeen Ali is in the squad to balance the side with his all round performances. Bowling all-rounder Chris Woakes also kept his place safe in the squad. He will play a key role in this traditionally famous series.

England team landed in Australia with their solid pace attack, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Steven Finn and Jake Ball are in the squad along with the newcomer Craig Overton. The most experienced duo Broad and Anderson will play a crucial part in the series. Mason Crane will play a specialist spinner’s role on the tour.



  • Joe Root (Captain)
  • Alastair Cook
  • Mark Stoneman
  • Dawid Malan
  • Gary Ballance
  • James Vince
  • Moeen Ali
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Mason Crane
  • Ben Foakes
  • Chris Woakes
  • Stuart Broad
  • James Anderson
  • Jake Ball
  • Craig Overton
  • Steven Finn




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 + 9 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top