After many delays with rain and wet outfield, an unofficial one-day series between India A vs New Zealand A finally kick started two days ago based on rescheduled fixtures. Second and third matches got over already, two teams meets once again in fourth match of the series on Friday. At the moment India A leads five match series 1-0. 4th one-day between India A vs New Zealand A scheduled to start at 9 AM IST on Friday, 13th October 2017.



Shreyas Iyer led India A side tied the first match in a thrilling contest and came back strong on very next day to take a lead in the series 1-0. As BCCI announced another squad for last two matches, now focus and captaincy shifts to the young wicket keeper batsman Rishabh pant. Ankit Bawne, the only batsman who was part of first 3 matches retains the place in two matches as well. Batsmen Baba Aparajith, Prashant Chopra and Abhimanyu Easwaren comes into the squad in place of Shreyas Iyer, Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw. Rishabh Pant replaces Shreevats Goswami in the squad and will take care of wicket keeper’s duties. Captain Pant is expected to open the innings for India A and he may opens along with Prashant Chopra who scored triple century in the Ranji Trophy match few days ago. Baba Aparajith, the young batsman from Chennai will bat at no. 3 spot. He was in quite good form during second season of TNPL tournament two months ago. Abhimanyu Easwaran most likely to bat at no. 4 in this match, he was also in good form in recent times. He smashed four half centuries out of 7 innings in Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League few months ago.

After good batting and bowling performances in the last game, the all rounders Vijay Shankar and Deepak Hooda will play another key roles in this game for India A. Vijay Shankar picked 1 for 18 in his 4 overs spell and also done well with bat where he scored 47 not out off 42 balls. On other side, Deepak Hooda picked up 2 wickets for 17 runs in 5 overs and remained not out for the score 35 off 27 balls with a bat. Ankit Bawne came at no. 7 in both of previous matches, he was the major reason for avoiding the loss in that tied game on Tuesday. He remained not out for 83 off 80 in that match, hopefully he will come with another good knock to showcase his skills. The bowling all rounder Karn Sharma has claimed total of 7 wickets in 2 innings, including the five wicket haul on Wednesday night. He is the key bowler at the moment for India A. The left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem offers a good company to Karn Sharma with his tight economical spells. He claimed one wicket each in both matches. India A played with the pacers Siddharth Kaul and Shardul Thakur in second match, but rested both of them and replaced with Mohammad Siraj and Basil Thampi in a third. Kaul utilized his chance and picked 3 wickets while Basil Thampi done well in the last match and picked 1 for 24. Shardul Thakur bowled an expensive and wicket-less spell in that match he played. Therefore, either 2 among Kaul, Siraj and Thampi will play in this match on Friday.



New Zealand A side has shown a good batting performances in the second match on Tuesday and posted 269 runs in 42 overs. But in the very next day, they collapsed and bowled out for 143 runs in 37.1 overs. Among the bowling performances, Todd Astle claimed 5 wickets in 2 innings, rest of the bowlers couldn’t done their job well. The batting all rounder George Worker and Colin Munro opened the innings in both occasions, but the pair failed to provide big start for the team. Worker is the regular opener in domestic circuit, which means he will open the innings once again on Friday. But, in matter of Colin Munro who used to bat at no. 3 or in middle-order generally, might go back to his favorite batting position in this game. In that case Glenn Phillips will open the innings for New Zealand A. Phillips scored a big century on Tuesday (140 off 130 balls) and dismissed for 9 runs on Wednesday. He is young and talented batsman, expecting another big century from him on Friday. Captain Henry Nicholls starts his innings well, but fails in convert into big scores. He managed to score 24 and 35 runs respectively. Tom Bruce batted well in the first match for his 46 runs, but dismissed for 14 runs in last match. Bruce will get another chance in this game and hopefully will come with good knock.

The all rounder Scott Kuggeleijn claimed 3 wickets on Tuesday, but as he conceded 56 runs in 6 overs spell, he was dropped in the last match. He proved his talents so many times in domestic cricket that will help him to be back in the XI on Friday. The experienced Colin de Grandhomme wasted his opportunity by dismissed for 24 off 41 balls. As he is in New Zealand’s major squad for the upcoming India tour, he may make a way for Kuggeleijn on Friday. Black Caps side tried with two different wicket keepers in last two matches, but both Tom Blundell and Tim Seifert failed to impress with their poor batting performances in lower middle-order. Tim Seifert is expected to get a chance ahead of Blundell in this match on Friday. Todd Astle claimed 4 for 22 runs in the high scoring tied game on Tuesday. He also picked a wicket on the next day as well. He will keep his place safe in the XI and might offers another good show with a ball. The experienced quickie Matt Henry is expected to be back in the XI for this match. He is a wicket taking bowler and once he get chance in the XI, he will go through deep in India A’s innings. Lockie Ferguson bowled an expensive spell in both occasions which may dull his chances to be in playing XI on Friday. The key leg-spinner Ish Sodhi yet to bring his best in the series, hopefully he will give you lot of points more than you expected.




  • Baba Aparajith
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Prashant Chopra
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Ankit Bawne
  • Karn Sharma
  • Shahbaz Nadeem
  • Siddharth Kaul



  • George Worker
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Colin Munro
  • Scott Kuggeleijn
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Todd Astle
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Matt Henry




1. Prashant Chopra, 2. Rishabh Pant, 3. Baba Aparajith, 4. Abhimanyu Easwaran, 5. Vijay Shankar, 6. Deepak Hooda, 7. Ankit Bawne, 8. Karn Sharma, 9. Shahbaz Nadeem, 10. Siddharth Kaul, 11. Mohammad Siraj / Basil Thampi.


1. George Worker, 2. Glenn Phillips, 3. Colin Munro, 4. Henry Nicholls, 5. Tom Bruce, 6. Scott Kuggeleijn, 7. Tim Seifert / Colin de Grandhomme, 8. Matt Henry, 9. Todd Astle, 10. Ish Sodhi, 11. Lockie Ferguson / Seth Rance.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + nine =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top