After clinching an unofficial test series by 2-0, India A look ahead to play against New Zealand A in the five match one-day series which begins in Vizag on this Friday. New Zealand national side tours India later this month and this ‘A’ team series will be the key for players to get a chance in major team, same opportunities in for India A players as well. The first one-day game between India ‘A’ vs New Zealand ‘A’ scheduled to start at 9 AM Local on Friday, 6th October 2017.



India A side will play under two different captains in this series, Mumbai’s Shreyas Iyer will lead the side in first three matches. Then, the wicket keeper batsman Rishabh Pant will take the leadership for last two matches. The squad for first three matches has plenty of talented youngsters and most of the players in the squad has the IPL experiences. The wicket keeper Shreevats Goswami is the only specialist gloves-man in the 13-men squad. He used to open the innings in list A matches, so he is expected to open the innings along with Mayank Agarwal. Both Goswami and Agarwal has played lot of List A matches, Goswami maintains strike rate around 76 while Mayank Agarwal scores at strike rate of 95+. The 17-years old batsman Prithvi Shaw is in the squad for first three matches. He probably has to wait for his opportunity in the series. Ankit Bawne who was originally named in the squad for last 2 matches, now will be part of the squad for all 5 matches. He replaced the injured Shubham Gill in the squad. Bawne maintains strike rate of 70 in List A matches and he scored 1570 List A runs in 50 matches with the high score of 117. Captain Shreyas Iyer used to bat at no. 4 in domestic matches, hopefully he will play at the same spot in this game as well. He is an in-form player and he is capable of scoring match winning tons.

The batting all rounder Deepak Hooda struggles for runs in quite sometime now. He started his IPL career with blistering season three years ago, but he struggled for scoring runs in recent IPL season and also faced troubles in recent domestic matches as well. But for his power-hitting skills and an off-spin bowling, he will be in the XI in the series. Tamil Nadu all rounder Vijay Shankar is the other all rounder in the squad. He strengthens the middle-order with his quality batting and also helps the side with his wicket taking abilities. He played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL and played an impressive knocks whenever chances comes in his way. Karn Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem are two specialist spinners in the squad. Karn offers leg-spin while Shahbaz bowls left-arm spin, both bowlers are key hopefully, they will shine in the middle-overs on Friday. India A has four specialist seamers in their squad, they are Siddharth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj and Basil Thampi. All four of them made an impression with their performance in IPL season 10 earlier this year. Among four of them either Siraj or Thampi will be sit out in the dressing room.



New Zealand A team lost both unofficial tests by an innings on the tour. Henry Nicholls and team has a point to prove in this limited overs series to get a chances in New Zealand main team tour of India later this month. New Zealand Cricket Board has announced 9 players out of 15-men squad for the limited overs tour of India, which means rest of the squad will be picked from the ‘A’ team squad. The squad filled with number of players who represented their national team and also has talented domestic players in it. The batting all rounder George Worker is expected to open the innings in this limited overs series along with Glenn Phillips. George Worker has played 4 ODIs for New Zealand and also played plenty of matches in his List A career as well. Glenn Phillips, the wicket-keeping opener had a good season in recently concluded CPL tournament, which will help him to shine in this series against India A. The power-hitter Colin Munro is the most experienced batsman in the squad, he had a great season of CPL and the performances in this series will help him to be back in New Zealand’s ODI squad. Captain Henry Nicholls also has international experience as he played 11 ODI matches for the Black Caps. Tom Bruce is other notable batsman who maintains monstrous strike rate of 125 in his List A Career.

Will Young and Sean Solia are other two batsmen in the squad, both the players made a name for themselves in List A career by scoring lot of runs at healthy strike rates. Tom Blundell and Tim Seifert are specialist wicket-keepers in the squad. Blundell has much experiences than Seifert, but Seifert would be the first choice to make into the XI. As the team also has Glenn Phillips, some chances for Blundell and Seifert to misses out as well. The all rounders Todd Astle and Scott Kuggeleijn are in the squad to strengthen the middle-order batting and also to pick wickets at crucial stages. Scott Kuggeleijn has claimed 90 wickets in his 57 List A innings and also scored runs at strike rate of 93. Todd Astle also equally good to Kuggeleijn in List A career. The leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, who featured in 18 ODI matches for New Zealand is the lone specialist spinner apart from all rounders. His experiences in the limited overs format will come into play especially at sub-continent pitches. Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson are the seamers who has international experiences. Matt Henry will lead the bowling attack, he claimed 61 wickets in his 30 ODI innings. Lockie Ferguson is bit expensive in the format, but he is capable of picking wickets in every match. Seth Rance is the other pacer in the squad.




  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Karn Sharma
  • Shahbaz Nadeem
  • Siddharth Kaul
  • Basil Thampi



  • Colin Munro
  • George Worker
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Tom Bruce
  • Scott Kuggeleijn
  • Matt Henry
  • Ish Sodhi




1. Mayank Agarwal, 2. Shreevats Goswami, 3. Ankit Bawne / Prithvi shaw, 4. Shreyas Iyer, 5. Deepak Hooda, 6. Vijay Shankar, 7. Karn Sharma, 8. Shardul Thakur, 9. Sidharth Kaul, 10. Shahbaz Nadeem, 11. Basil Thampi.


1. George Worker, 2. Glenn Phillips, 3. Colin Munro, 4. Henry Nicholls, 5. Tom Bruce, 6. Tim Seifert / Will Young, 7. Scott Kuggeleijn, 8. Todd Astle, 9. Matt Henry, 10. Lockie Ferguson, 11. Ish Sodhi.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 − 11 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top