Bangladesh’s tour of South Africa begins with two match test series on coming Thursday. The first test to be played at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on September 28 to October 2 and then second test begins on October 6th at Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein. Both Cricket Boards has announced their respective test squads recently.



South Africa playing the first test since Faf du Plessis taking over full-time captaincy last month. Cricket South Africa has been providing opportunities to the new comers like Aiden Markram and Andile Phehlukwayo who yet to make a debut in test cricket.

Faf du Plessis led-side has enough of experienced players in the squad. The test opener Dean Elgar is in the squad along with other batsmen like Hashim Amla, Theunis de Bruyn and Temba Bavuma. The well experienced players Amla and du Plessis are the key factors in this batting unit.

The regular wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock retains his position and as he started to bat at no. 4 in the order, chances are high for him to bat at that same position in this series as well. The experienced Jean-Paul Duminy has been announced his retirement from test cricket and first-class cricket some days ago, that means Aiden Markram is expected to fulfill Duminy’s place in the XI.

Andile Phehlukwayo who was in South Africa’s limited overs teams for over one year now, seeking for his opportunities in test cricket. He has selected for this Bangladesh series, so once he gets a game, Phehlukwayo will shine with his all round performances. The pace heavy South African side has named four pacers in their squad. The young and dynamic Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, the bowling all rounder Wayne Parnell and Duanne Olivier are those fast bowlers in South Africa squad. The spin bowling all rounder Keshav Maharaj is the lone specialist spinner in the squad. He is well capable of picking wickets and also scoring runs.



  • Faf du Plessis (Captain)
  • Hashim Amla
  • Temba Bavuma
  • Theunis de Bruyn
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Dean Elgar
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Aiden Markram
  • Morne Morkel
  • Duanne Olivier
  • Wayne Parnell
  • Andile Phehlukwayo
  • Kagiso Rabada



The regular captain of Bangaldesh test team, Mushfiqur Rahim will lead the side once again on this tour. BCB has recalled Mahmudullah Riyad to cover the gap of Shakib al Hasan who requested for 6 months rest from Test cricket. Mahmudullah was dropped for Bangladesh’s historic 100th Test, played in Sri Lanka, owing to lack of form and missed both the Tests against Australia. His experience playing in foreign conditions is understood to have been integral in his recall to the setup, especially with Shakib deciding to take a break.

Rubel Hossain, the pace bowler returning to the squad for the first time since January. He faced NOC issues for few days, but as it cleared on last Thursday, he joined the rest of the squad in South Africa and available for the selection. Bangladesh has traveled with their regular batting unit which contains the experienced Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes and Sabbir Rahman.

Mominul Haque has been recalled to the test cricket after some months of gap. Liton Das will do a job of back-up wicket keeper. Mehidy Hasan and Taijul Islam are two specialist spinners in the Bangladesh squad.

The bowling sensation of Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rahman will lead the pace attack on this test series. The pace unit has Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Subhashis Roy in it.



  • Mushfiqur Rahim(Captain)
  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Soumya Sarkar
  • Imrul Kayes
  • Sabbir Rahman
  • Mahmudullah
  • Mominul Haque
  • Mehidy Hasan
  • Liton Das
  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Taijul Islam
  • Shafiul Islam
  • Taskin Ahmed
  • Rubel Hossain
  • Subashis Roy



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five + 14 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top