After the disappointing home season against Zimbabwe and India, Sri Lanka cricket team travels UAE to play 2 tests, 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is against Pakistan which starts with the first test on coming Thursday at Sheikh Zayad Stadium in Abu Dhabi. Cricket Sri Lanka has announced their squad for the test series while Pakistan Cricket Board also announced their 16 member squad recently.



Pakistan test team begins the new era without veterans Misbah-ul-Haq and Younis Khan who were retired few months ago. After the retirement of Misbah, the limited overs captain Sarfraz Ahmed takes a charge of test team as well. He begins the new era of Pakistan test cricket with this test series against Sri Lanka. PCB has given a chance to many of talented and experienced players along with some new comers too. The former ODI captain Azhar Ali and the batting sensation Babar Azam are two most important batsmen in the Pakistan squad. The openers Shan Masood and Sami Aslam earned their opportunities and being part of the squad. The experienced middle-order batsman Asad Shafiq retains his place in the test squad. Usman Salahuddin is the new comer in Pakistan batting unit while Haris Sohail finally earned his chances in the test squad.

Captain of the side Sarfraz Ahmed struggled to score runs in recent times, especially in T20 format. As the test series begins, the deep batting of Sarfraz is expected to come out and bring him into the form. The all rounder Bilal Asif has got his maiden test call-up who has played 3 ODIs in 2015. The major spinner, Yasir Shah is in the squad and he has a company of 18-years old Mohammad Asghar in the spin department. After the good tour of West Indies, the fast bowler Mohammad Abbas retained his place in the squad. The experienced left-arm pacers Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz will lead the pace attack in the series. Hasan Ali, Mir Hamza and Mohammad Abbas are an other pacers in the squad.

  • Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain)
  • Azhar Ali
  • Shan Masood
  • Sami Aslam
  • Babar Azam
  • Asad Shafiq
  • Haris Sohail
  • Usman Salahuddin
  • Mohammad Amir
  • Hasan Ali
  • Yasir Shah
  • Mohammad Asghar
  • Mohammad Abbas
  • Bilal Asif
  • Mir Hamza
  • Wahab Riaz



3-0 test series loss to India at home soil hurts Sri Lankan team so badly. Now they are on the tour of UAE to play test test series against Pakistan. The experienced Dinesh Chandimal took over the captaincy from Angelo Mathews who has announced resignation before India series. Mathews once again faces injury woes and he is not available for the first test in UAE. Dinesh Chandimal has plenty of pressure on his shoulders after those continuous defeats at home. The fans shown their angry due to the team’s poor performances during India series. It is time for Sri Lanka to re-group and find a way to back in winning ways. Sri Lanka has six specialist batsmen in the squad, they are Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva and Roshen Silva. Among the above mentioned players, Roshen Silva is the new comer who yet to make international debut across the formats.

Niroshan Dickwella, the only in-form batsman in Sri Lanka team in 2017. He shows his consistency in all three formats of the game. Undoubtedly, Dickwella has a big role to play in this series. The 22-years old Sadheera Samarawickreme is the other wicket keeper batsman, possibly needs to wait for his chances. The off-spinner Dilruwan Perera is the lone all rounder in this Sri Lanka squad. The well experienced left-arm spinner, Rangana Herath will lead the Sri Lankan bowling attack one more time. He has a company of left-arm chinaman Lakshan Sandakan. Suranga Lakmal is back to the fitness, he will lead the pace attack which contains Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando and Lahiru Gamage. Cricket Sri Lanka has selected the next level team for this series and they hope for good things from this two match test series.

  • Dinesh Chandimal (Captain)
  • Lahiru Thirimanne
  • Dimuth Karunaratne
  • Kaushal Silva
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Sadeera Samarawickrama
  • Roshen Silva
  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Rangana Herath
  • Lakshan Sandakan
  • Dilruwan Perera
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Vishwa Fernando
  • Lahiru Gamage


The first test starts on coming Thursday, 28th September and the second test will be played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai on 06-10th October, 2017.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × 4 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top