Ind vs Aus


After the successful tour of Sri Lanka, Virat Kohli led-side Team India is facing Australia in five match ODI series at home which starts on 17th September in Chennai. Australia team arrived in India after played two match test series against Bangladesh in Bangladesh. Cricket Australia has announced their squad few weeks ago while BCCI announced their 16-men India squad for first 3 ODIs on last Sunday.

India will play with almost the same squad which played against Sri Lanka recently. Pacers Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav are back into the limited overs side while Shardul Thakur was the only one who dropped from the squad.

Team India has 7 specialist batsmen in their squad, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, KL Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane and Kedar Jadhav. As Shikhar and Rohit played well in recent matches, they are the first choice openers for India in this series as well. Ajinkya Rahane will play a role of back-up opener once again. KL Rahul was not on good form during the ODI series against Sri Lanka. He would fight for his place with his stateman Manish Pandey. Kedar Jadhav’s part-time overs helped India in many occasions and that would be key for the team.

The former captain MS Dhoni will continue his work behind the stumps. He was in good form against Sri Lanka and scored runs consistently. Lot of expectations on the veteran wicket keeper and he is expected to deliver well against Australia. Hard-hitter Hardik Pandya is the specialist all rounder in the squad. He had poor ODI series against Sri Lanka, he should be back in form in quick time as do not have much time. The spin bowling all rounder Axar Patel is in fine form and he needs to deliver as ace spinners Ashwin and Jadeja not selected in the squad.

The left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal are in the squad who awaits to deliver in this big series. After dream series against Sri Lanka, Jasprit Bumrah is expected to play another big role in the series against Australia. Bhuvneshwar Kumar struggled to pick wickets in first 3 ODIs against Sri Lanka, but he came back strong with five wicket haul in the last ODI. That would improved his confident level ahead of this home series. Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav back in the squad which strengthen the pace bowling attack.

Australia will play under their regular captain Steven Smith on this tour. The speedster Mitchell Starc will miss India tour due to a slower than expected recovery from an injury. All rounder James Faulkner returned to the ODI squad along with spin-bowling all rounder Ashton Agar and fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile, who is returning from a back injury.

David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith and Travis Head are the specialist batsmen in Australia’s ODI squad. The limited overs specialist Aaron Finch will opens the innings along with David Warner as usual. Captain Steven Smith is expected to play at his regular position no. 3. Travis Head played few good knocks for his IPL franchise RCB earlier this year, which could help him to shine on his first international tour of India.

The power-hitting all rounder Glenn Maxwell has plenty of experiences in Indian pitches who played lot of cricket during IPL seasons. Hilton Cartwright, the all rounder is awaiting for his debut in limited overs format for Australia. Returning James Faulkner, Marcus Stoinis and Ashton Agar are other all rounders in Australia squad. The experienced wicket keeper Mathew Wade will do the duties with gloves.

The leg-spinner Adam Zampa is the regular member of Australia’s limited overs squad for more than year now and he retains his place in the squad for this series too. On the absence of Mitchell Starc, pacer Josh Hazlewood will lead the pace bowling attack which has Pat Cummins and Nathan Coulter-Nile.




  • Virat Kohli (Captain)
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Lokesh Rahul
  • Manish Pandey
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • MS Dhoni
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Axar Patel
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Mohammed Shami



  • Steven Smith(c)
  • David Warner
  • Aaron Finch
  • Travis Head
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Matthew Wade
  • James Faulkner
  • Ashton Agar
  • Hilton Cartwright
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Pat Cummins
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Adam Zampa



MATCHES                                          DATE & VENUE                                                                   TIME

1st ODI                            – September 17 at MA. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai             – 1:30 PM Local | 8 AM GMT

2nd ODI                          – September 21 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata                                       – 1:30 PM Local | 8 AM GMT

3rd ODI                           – September 24 at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore                       – 1:30 PM Local | 8 AM GMT

4th ODI                           – September 28 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru           – 1:30 PM Local | 8 AM GMT

5th ODI                           – October 1 at Vidarbha Cricket Ground, Nagpur                           – 1:30 PM Local | 8 AM GMT




Anand Thiyagarajan

Cricket is what everyone loves. If you’re ready to play fantasy cricket but don’t know how to analyze players, consider his Articles as the foundation of your fantasy teams. Anand is a cricket blogger and fantasy cricket lover.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 2 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top