T20 Blast


Second place team in South Group Surrey faces Birmingham Bears who finished third in North group, in 4th and last quarter final match of the T20 Blast season. Kennington Oval in London hosts this match and it’s a home game for Surrey. 4th Quarter Final between Surrey vs Birmingham Bears scheduled to start at 7 PM Local | 11:30 PM IST on Friday, 25th August 2017.



Surrey team qualified to Quarter-final with 7 wins in 14 matches and 3 of those came in last 3 matches of group stage. The hat-trick of wins assured their place in the knock-outs. The experienced leg-spinner Gareth Batty captaining the Surrey side in the competition. The openers of Surrey are one of the most popular hard-hitting openers in T20 cricket right now, Aaron Finch and Jason Roy. Both Finch and Roy offers big scores with solid opening stand for Surrey. They are so well with the current form and deserves places in your fantasy teams. Australian All rounder Moises Henriques bats at no. 3 for Surrey. He dismissed for duck in the last game but managed to bowl well in his 3 overs. Generally, he used to play proper T20 innings with bat and expects the same on Friday night. The wicket keeper Ben Foakes back in the side in the last match. He is the right person to bat at crucial no. 4 and he done good job in the past. He managed to score only 13 runs on his return, but he could play better knock than that. Surrey played with another wicket keeper Ollie Pope, but his continuous failures may causes his place. In that case, Tom Curran may back in the side to strengthen the bowling attack. All rounder Rikki Clarke bowled so well and picked 4 wickets in the last game. He is not in good form with bat and compensate those with good bowling spells. Sam Curran contributes with runs and wickets. He claimed 4 for 13 in 4 overs against Gloucestershire last week. Batsman Rory Burns has chance to play key role in this game. He did not get correct opportunities yet, once he gets on Friday, will score runs for the team. The wicket taking bowler Jade Dernbach will lead the bowling attack with his wicket taking talents. Stuart Meaker will accompany him with a new ball. Captain Gareth Batty leads the team so well in recent matches. As an individual, he contributes with regular economical cum wicket taking spells. He is one of the key bowler of Surrey.



Warwickshire’s T20 team Birmingham Bears advances to Quarter-final with 8 wins and 17 points. They finished at no. 3 in the North Group points table. Birmingham Bears has announced big 17-men squad for this clash at home. Grant Elliott leads the team in knockouts. As the current combination worked out well for Bears, not more than one or two changes are expected for this game. The openers Ed Pollack and Dominic Sibley are in very good batting form at the moment. Both of scored over 100 runs each in last two innings. That form is expected to continue and they gives solid opening stand to the team. Ian Bell rested in the last game, he is expected to be back in the XI by replacing Sam Hain. Once Bell is back, he will bat at no. 3. Adam Hose played a good knock in the last game which will keep him in the XI. New Zealand’s Grant Elliott and Colin de Grandhomme strengthen the middle-order of Birmingham Bears. Both all rounders managed to score just 1 run each in last match, but they are well experienced and a match winners. Hopefully, will come with all round performances. Alex Mellor, wicket keeper failed to score runs that would make a way open for Tim Ambrose. Middle-order batsman Aaron Thomason used to score runs quick in the end overs and that trend expect to continue in this game as well. The off-spinner Jeetan Patel bowled well in recent matches for Bears. He is good T20 bowler and does so many things in T20 Blast seasons. Pacers Oliver Hannon-Dalby and Olly Stone will continue their good work with an economical and wicket taking spells. Josh Poysden has some chances to keep his place safe in the XI.




  • Aaron Finch
  • Jason Roy
  • Ben Foakes
  • Moises Henriques
  • Rikki Clarke
  • Gareth Batty
  • Jade Dernbach
  • Sam Curran



  • Ian Bell
  • Ed Pollack
  • Dominic Sibley
  • Adam Hose
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Grant Elliott
  • Jeetan Patel
  • Oliver Hannon-Dalby




1. Jason Roy, 2. Aaron Finch, 3. Moises Henriques, 4. Ben Foakes, 5. Rory Burns, 6. Rikki Clarke, 7. Sam Curran, 8. Tom Curran, 9. Stuart Meaker, 10. Gareth Batty, 11. Jade Dernbach.



1. Ed Pollack, 2. Dominic Sibley, 3. Ian Bell, 4. Adam Hose, 5. Grant Elliott, 6. Colin de Grandhomme, 7. Aaron Thomason / Sam Hain, 8. Tim Ambrose, 9. Olly Stone, 10. Jeetan Patel, 11. Oliver Hannon-Dalby / Josh Poysden.



Anand Thiyagarajan

Cricket is what everyone loves. If you’re ready to play fantasy cricket but don’t know how to analyze players, consider his Articles as the foundation of your fantasy teams. Anand is a cricket blogger and fantasy cricket lover.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × five =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top