The team from Caribbean islands, West Indies is on the tour of England. They visits Ireland to play an one-off ODI on September 13. Civil Service Cricket Club in Belfast will hosts this only ODI and this will be Ireland’s first-ever International match since obtaining test status in June. Cricket Ireland has announced their 14-men squad for this ODI match.

The experienced all rounder Paul Stirling and the wicket keeper Niall O’Brien are back in the squad as both of them regained full fitness. At the same time pacers Barry McCarthy and Craig Young missed out in the list as they suffered with injuries.

Coach of the team, John Bracewell expressed his disappointment on the loss of pace bowling duo, but he is confident that team has enough quality to upset the visitors. “Barry fractured his thumb batting in the nets and is expected to be out of action for around 3 or 4 weeks,” Bracewell said. “Craig’s recuperation from an ongoing elbow problem is continuing but if surgery is required, which it may be, this could put him out for 8-10 weeks. We should know that for certain very shortly,” he added.

The regular captain William Porterfield has named as a captain one more time. He has well talented and experienced players in the squad. The veteran batsman Ed Joyce and Gary Wilson kept their places safe in the side along with Andrew Balbirnie. The 34-years old batsman John Anderson has recalled to the squad after an one-year gap.

Niall O’Brien will take care of gloves work behind the stumps while his brother Kevin O’Brien is available to offer his all round performances. Paul Stirling, the opener cum all rounder will open the innings with his hard-hitting skills. Jacob Mulder is the third all rounder in the squad.

The left arm spinner George Dockrell will play a big role in the spin department and he has a company of Simi Singh. Tim Murtagh, Boyd Rankin and Peter Chase are the major pace options for this game.



  • William Porterfield (Captain)
  • John Anderson
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • Peter Chase
  • George Dockrell
  • Ed Joyce
  • Tim Murtagh
  • Kevin O’Brien
  • Niall O’Brien
  • Jacob Mulder
  • Boyd Rankin
  • Simi Singh
  • Gary Wilson
  • Paul Stirling



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × 1 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top