Australia’s tour of Indian Sub-Continent begins with two test match series against Bangladesh in Bangladesh. This test tour gets lots of attention especially after the tour cancelled last time around due to the security reasons. Australia has announced 14-men test squad for this series while Bangladesh also announced their squad recently.

Team Australia traveled to Bangladesh under their regular captain Steven Smith. The no. 1 batsman in ICC test rankings Steve Smith looking forward to steady his number 1 ranking with this series. He has his deputy David Warner in the squad. He had a blow on the neck during practice game back in home some days ago. He is fit and available for this series.

Australia has batsmen Usman Khawaja, Matt Renshaw and Peter Handscomb are in the squad. Khawaja was in squad of India tour, but did not get a game that time. He is awaiting for his chances and chances are high for him to get his chance on this tour. Matt Renshaw, the young opener done his part well in last test season and looks forward to continue with his good batting skills. Peter Handscomb is expected to play only as batsman, because Mathew Wade is in the squad to handle wicket keeping job.

The all rounder Glenn Maxwell kept his place in test squad after his impressive performances in India tour earlier this year. Maxwell struggled to get test chances for long time, now he gets and hope for stunning performances from him. Hilton Cartwright is the other all rounder who named in the squad. Bowling all rounder Ashton Agar, Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Swepson are the spinners in the squad.

The experienced Nathan Lyon will offer an off-spin while the left-arm spinner Ashton Agar awaiting to get a game after 4 long years. Josh Hazlewood will lead the pace bowling attack on the absence of Mitchell Starc. The pace unit contains Hazlewood, Pat Cummins and Jackson Bird.

On the other side, the home team Bangladesh will play under their regular test captain Mushfiqur Rahim. The wicket keeper batsman has enough experiences and he led the team well for past 2 years. The experienced opener Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar and Imrul Kayes are named in the squad to take care of top-order batting. Tamim and Sarkar are front-line openers, Kayes might play at no. 3.

Sabbir Rahman and Mominul Haque are the other batsmen in the squad. Mosaddek Hossein named in the original squad, later he was dropped due to injury and replaced by Mominul Haque. Sabbir used to bat in middle-order in test format and his presence would strength the batting line-up of Bangladesh. Litton Das is the back-up wicket keeper who could contribute with bat in the middle-order.

The star all rounder Shakib al Hasan has huge amount of responsibilities as the team faces one of the big gun in the test arena. Shakib done a great job in tests with both bat and bowl in 2017, hopefully he will take his team to surprise victory in this home series. Nasir Hossain, the all rounder found a place in the squad after several months. He also has good experiences in this stage of his career, he will strengthen batting and bowling unit once he gets a chance in the XI.

The spin magic Mehidy Hasan who won the test for Bangladesh against England in their home season last year, struggled to perform in recent matches. This could be his right time to perform and justify his selection in the XI. Taijul Islam is the other spin option for Bangladesh. The left-arm quick Mustafizur Rahman will lead the pace attack which contains Taskin Ahmed and Shafiul Islam.




  • Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain)
  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Imrul Kayes
  • Soumya Sarkar
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Sabbir Rahman
  • Nasir Hossain
  • Mehidy Hasan
  • Mominul Haque
  • Liton Das
  • Taijul Islam
  • Shafiul Islam
  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Taskin Ahmed



  • Steven Smith (Captain)
  • David Warner
  • Matt Renshaw
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Peter Handscomb
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Matthew Wade
  • Ashton Agar
  • Hilton Cartwright
  • Pat Cummins
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Mitchell Swepson
  • Jackson Bird



Matches                                                  Date & Venue                                                                         Time

1st Test                         – August 27-31 at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka             – 10 AM Local | 9:30 AM IST

2nd Test                       – September 4-8 at Zahur Ahmed Stadium, Chittagong                 – 10 AM Local | 9:30 AM IST




Anand Thiyagarajan

Cricket is what everyone loves. If you’re ready to play fantasy cricket but don’t know how to analyze players, consider his Articles as the foundation of your fantasy teams. Anand is a cricket blogger and fantasy cricket lover.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × two =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top