T20 Blast


Natwest T20 Blast hosts just one game on Saturday, teams from South Group Glamorgan and Somerset face-off in this clash. Glamorgan has each 1 win and 1 loss while Somerset lost both matches till now. The match between Glamorgan vs Somerset schedule to start at 7 PM Local | 11:30 PM IST on Saturday, 15th July 2017.



Glamorgan started the tournament with 22 runs defeat against Hampshire, but they came back strong against Sussex and won that game by 18 runs with the help of Colin Ingram’s century. For the match against Somerset on Saturday, Glamorgan has named the same 13-men squad. Former South African Jacques Rudolph is the captain of Glamorgan side. Glamorgan has strong four in the top of the order. David Lloyd scored 0 and 3 in first two matches, but he could come back to form quickly and score runs on Saturday. His partner Aneurin Donald also an experienced player and he is expected to play key role in this game. The hard-hitting Colin Ingram smashed big century in the last game and he may play another big innings in this game. He has a company of captain Rudolph who scored 49 runs in the last game. Rudolph’s experiences is a key for the team and he is always a trustable player.

Glamorgan’s middle-order filled with Wicket keeper Chris Cooke, Kiran Carlson and an all rounder Graham Wagg. Kiran Carlson wasn’t impressive as he dismissed for duck against Hampshire. Criag Meschede, the all rounder has chances to replace Carlson in the XI. Chris Cooke is in good form and that was shown against Sussex. He could play an aggressive knocks in the end overs. All rounder Wagg scored 28 ball 50 runs against Hampshire. He also capable of picking important wickets in the middle-overs. Andrew Salter bowled well against Hamphire, but did not get overs against Sussex. He is expected to bowl key wicket taking spells on Saturday night. Marchant de Lange bowled expensive spells in both occasions. As he is the squad again, will play in this game. Timm van der Gugten also conceded runs in both matches. He is well experienced and that could help him to find his form back in this game. Michael Hogan is a key bowler of Glamorgan, he picked 2 wickets each in both matches and also bowled economical spells.



Somerset yet to start their account in the tournament. In the first game, Surrey defeated Somerset by just 4 runs. Then Essex dominated and won by 22 runs in Somerset’s second game. New Zealand all rounder Corey Anderson is playing for Somerset in T20 Blast, he missed out in the last game due to injury and he will miss this game against Glamorgan too. The well experienced Jim Allenby leads the team in this season and he needs his players to bring their A-game on Saturday. Wicket keeper Steven Davies, captain Allenby, James Hildreth, Johann Myburgh and the all rounder Peter Trego occupies the top five in the batting order. Johann Myburgh replaced Corey Anderson in the last game. All five of them yet to score 30+ runs knock for Somerset this year. Peter Trego is a player to watch out for, he had a tremendous season last year and that similar performances are expected from him on Saturday.

James Hildreth and Adam Hose bats at no. 5 and 6. Their role could be finishing the innings in style. Hildreth had a good start against Essex, but failed to convert into big scores. Captain Allenby and Myburgh are key batsmen at the top of the order. Either one of them could play big innings on Saturday. All rounder Roelof van der Merwe claimed 3 wickets haul against Surrey, but gone expensive against Essex. He is a wicket taking player who could bat well too. Undoubtedly, he is one of the key bowler of Somerset. Lewis Gregory, the all rounder bats lower in the order and he could smash the ball over the park. He is well capable bowler too. Bowler Craig Overton would keep his place safe as he bowled economical spell in the last game. There could be fight for one place between Josh Davey and Tim Groenewald. Both of them played one match each and both bowled well. Josh Davey has a chance to play as he is capable of batting in the lower order. Michael Leask was in good form in recent times, as he is named in the squad he may come into the XI as well.




  • Jacques Rudolph
  • Colin Ingram
  • David Lloyd
  • Aneurin Donald
  • Chris Cooke
  • Graham Wagg
  • Michael Hogan
  • Timm van der Gugten



  • Jim Allenby
  • Peter Trego
  • Roelof van der Merwe
  • Johann Myburgh
  • Steven Davies
  • Lewis Gregory
  • Max Waller
  • James Hildreth




1. David Lloyd, 2. Aneurin Donald, 3. Colin Ingram, 4. Jacques Rudolph, 5. Chris Cooke, 6. Kiran Carlson / Craig Meschede, 7. Graham Wagg, 8. Andrew Salter, 9. Michael Hogan, 10. Timm van der Gugten, 11. Marchant de Lange.



1. Johann Myburgh, 2. Jim Allenby, 3. Peter Trego, 4. Steven Davies, 5. James Hildreth, 6. Adam Hose / Michael Leask, 7. Roelof van der Merwe, 8. Lewis Gregory, 9. Craig Overton, 10. Josh Davey / Tim Groenewald, 11. Max Waller.


Play Well!! All The Best from Team FCN!!



Anand Thiyagarajan

Cricket is what everyone loves. If you’re ready to play fantasy cricket but don’t know how to analyze players, consider his Articles as the foundation of your fantasy teams. Anand is a cricket blogger and fantasy cricket lover.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fourteen + 10 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top