The Afghanistan’s maiden tour of West Indies began with three T20I series, the home team dominated and won by 3-0 whitewash. After the shortest format series, both the teams are facing each other in three limited overs matches which starts on this Friday. The visitors hope to come back well in this ODI series.

Cricket boards of both the teams has announced their respective squads for this history making ODI series. Just like the T20I series, this is going to be the first ODI bilateral series between these two teams. Asghar Stanikzai will lead Afghan squad in ODIs and West Indies brought back in their regular ODI skipper Jason Holder and he will lead the side once again.

After that dominating performances in T20I series, Cricket West Indies has announced 13-men squad for the series. Ten players who were in the T20I series squad, missed out in ODI squad. Evin Lewis, Rovman Powell and Jason Mohammed are only players who named in both T20 and ODI squads. Skipper Jason Holder who was rested for T20I series, back in the squad and he has plenty of young talents in his team.

Roston Chase, who performed so well with both bat and bowl in Tests, earned his maiden ODI called up in this series. He was named in the 13-men group and he is expected to make his ODI debut straightaway. Kieron Powell who played ODI series against England and Pakistan in recent times, kept his place in the squad.

Shannon Gabrial, Miguel Cummins and Alzarri Joseph are the pace duo for this series, while Ashley Nurse and Devendra Bishoo would take care of spin department. Shai Hope will do gloves work behind the stumps and also will bat at no. 4. Jonathan Carter and the uncapped Roston Chase are the all rounders in the side.

On other side, Afghanistan has made few changes in their squad compare to T20I squad. Nasir Jamal and Rahmat Shah, the two players who are added to the ODI squad. Asghar will lead the team once again and he has well mixed of batsmen and bowlers for this series. Afzar Zazai who was in T20I squad as a reserved player, named in main squad of ODIs.

Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Gulbadin Naib are the all rounders in the squad along with batting all rounder Rahmat Shah. Noor Ali Zadran, Usman Ghani and Javed Ahmedi are the opening options of Afghanistan.

The star and sensational player of Afghanistan, Rashid Khan would offer leg-break, while Amir Hamza would bowl left-arm spin. Rahmat Shah used to bat really well in limited overs cricket and his inclusion would energies the team, especially after losing all three games in T20I series.

Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in St.Lucia will hosts all three ODIs and all the matches will be played as a day/night games. Matches are scheduled to start at 2:30 PM Local time, that means it would start at 12 AM IST on the next day. Three ODIs will be played on June 9, 11 and 14.




  • Jason Holder  (Captain)
  • Devendra Bishoo
  • Jonathan Carter
  • Roston Chase
  • Miguel Cummins
  • Shannon Gabriel
  • Shai Hope
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Evin Lewis
  • Jason Mohammed
  • Ashley Nurse
  • Kieran Powell
  • Rovman Powell



  • Asghar Stanikzai (Captain)
  • Afsar Zazai
  • Amir Hamza
  • Dawlat Zadran
  • Fareed Ahmad
  • Gulbadin Naib
  • Javed Ahmadi
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Nasir Jamal
  • Noor Ali Zadran
  • Rahmat Shah
  • Rashid Khan
  • Samiullah Shenwari
  • Shafiqullah (wk)
  • Shapoor Zadran
  • Usman Ghani


Follow FCN for more news, updates and Fantasy Previews of this series in upcoming days!!



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × three =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top