T20 Cricket

SA Global T20 League : IPL and PSL Owners Grabbed Franchises!

The owners of IPL Franchises Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils decided to grab the franchises in South Africa Global T20 League. At the same time two franchise owners of Pakistan Super League (PSL), Peshawar Zalmi and Lahore Qalandars also shown interest in this brand new T20 League and bought franchises.

Apart from these four owners, two South African businessmen and businessmen from Hong Kong and Dubai also grabbed the ownership of franchises in this eight franchises T20 League.

Cape Town, Durban, Benoni, Bloemfontein, Johannesburg, Stellenbosch, Pretoria and Port Elizabeth are the cities which hosts the brand new franchises based Global T20 League in South Africa.

Knight Riders brand already owns T20 teams in both Indian Premier League (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Caribbean Premier League (Trinbago Knight Riders), now owns their third franchises as they bought the ownership of the Cape Town franchise. Bollywood Superstar Shah Rukh Khan, a major shareholders on Knight Riders brand made an announcement with lots of proud. The owners of Delhi Daredevils – GMR Sports bought the Johannesburg franchise.

Franchise owners of PSL teams Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi bagged the rights of Durban and Benoni based franchises respectively. The owner of Qalandars Fawad Rana bagged the Durban franchise and Javed Afridi, the owner of Zalmi now owns Benoni Franchise.

South African businessman Osman Osman who are the owner of lifestyle brand bagged the Pretoria based franchise and the other businessman from the country owns the franchises which based on Stellenbosch. The name of the owner of that franchise is Mushtaq Brey.

The businessmen from Hong Kong and Dubai also bagged franchise each and they owns Bloemfontein and the Port Elizabeth franchises respectively. The owner of Bloemfontein franchise is Sushil Kumar from Hong Kong, meanwhile Port Elizabeth franchise owns by Dubai’s Ajay Sethi.

Cricket South Africa also unveiled eight former South African national players as brand ambassadors. Former captain Graeme Smith, Ashwell Prince, Herschelle Gibbs, Paul Adams, Andrew Hall, Andrew Hudson, Allen Donald and Paul Harris are those former players who going to work as a brand ambassadors.

The Global T20 League planned to play on every South African summer and the first grand season will be played later this year. The marquee South African players were announced in April and now they assigned to their respective teams for the first two seasons of the tournament.

The captain of South Africa’s ODI and T20 sides, AB de Villiers went to Pretoria franchise while, Stellenbosch bagged the service of test captain Faf du Plessis. The hard hitting middle-order batsman David Miller has announced as the marquee player of Bloemfontein and the no. 1 leg-spinner Imran Tahir named as Port Elizabeth’s marquee player.

The successful openers of South African team Hashim Amla and Quinton de Kock will be the face of Durban and Benoni franchises respectively.

JP Duminy who plays for Delhi Daredevils in the IPL, gone to Knight Riders camp in this tournament as he named as marquee player of Cape Town franchise. But GMR sports hold their another South African player who played his first ever IPL season for Delhi Daredevils earlier this year, Kagiso Rabada as a face of Johannesburg franchises.

“The announcement of the team owners is a key milestone to successfully launch our T20 Global League,” said Haroon Lorgat, Chief Executive of CSA. “We are thrilled by the international mix of owners and the passion and excitement that was clearly demonstrated during the bidding process by them and the marquee players. It sets up our #T20GL as a fans favourite in the cricketing calendar.”

SA Global T20 League’s first ever draft process will take place in coming August. Around 400 players have shown their interest to be the part this brand new T20 League and the auction will be held on August 19, announced by Cricket South Africa.


Franchise City Owners Marquee player
Durban Fawad Rana Hashim Amla
Benoni Javed Afridi Quinton de Kock
Pretoria Osman Osman AB de Villiers
Stellenbosch Mushtaq Brey Faf du Plessis
Cape Town Shah Rukh Khan JP Duminy
Bloemfontein Sushil Kumar David Miller
Johannesburg GMR Sports Kagiso Rabada
Port Elizabeth Ajay Sethi Imran Tahir


One more T20 League comes on our way to give lot more excitement and make all fantasy players excited. We will come with further news soon..




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − 3 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top