As the Champions Trophy 2017 was over, Team India travels straight away from London to Caribbean to play 5 ODIs and one T20I match against West Indies, which starts on this Friday at Port of Spain. Both cricket boards, BCCI and WICB has announced their respective squads for 5 matches ODI Series.

The visitors Team India has made only two changes from their Champions Trophy 15-men squad. The opening batsman Rohit Sharma and the fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah are rested for this tour. Rohit Sharma who was out of action since last November, back in IPL season and played well in Champions Trophy. Now, BCCI decided to give him a well deserved rest ahead of test tour to Sri Lanka in July.

Jasprit Bumrah, the 23-years old pacer bowled so well for Mumbai Indians in IPL and also played well for India in ODIs and T20Is. He will probably get a call in test cricket soon and that may be the reason he was rested from this tour. The wicket keeper batsman Rishabh Pant and left-arm chinaman Kuldeep Yadav has got a call-up to the ODI squad.

The 19-year old Rishabh Pant is known for aggressive and fearless batting and he has had play in that manner in across the format. He played a stunning knock of 326-ball 308 runs in the Ranji Trophy last season. He also played fastest century in U-19 cricket world cup last year. He continued his fearless batting in recent IPL season and now he is set to play in the Caribbean for Team India.

Kuldeep Yadav who played a key role in India’s test win against Australia in Dharamshala back in March. He played a key role for KKR in IPL and ready to make his ODI debut on this tour. Captain Virat Kohli has well talented batsmen and bowlers in the squad. Shikhar Dhawan, most runs scorer of Champions Trophy is in his best form. Skipper Virat Kohli the no. 1 ODI batsman at the moment, also smashed 3 half-centuries in CT. Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant and Kedar Jadhav are the other batsmen in the group. Former captain MS Dhoni would manage wicket-keeper’s duty and he has back up Dinesh Karthik.

The experienced all rounder Yuvraj Singh kept his place safe in the squad and he has company of Hardik Pandya to take care of all rounders role. The off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and left-arm Ravindra Jadeja are in the squad to offers the spin options, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami are the pace options.

The West Indies Cricket Board has announced the unchanged 13-squad for the first two ODIs of this 5 match series. Shannon Gabriel the premier pacer of West Indies was not named in the squad as he still recover from the injury. Kesrick Williams who replaced Shannon Gabriel in the final ODI squad against Afghanistan earlier this month, got an another chance.

It seems that West Indies goes with inexperienced squad against one of the strongest team in the world, India. Shai Hope and Evin Lewis are the only two batsmen who scored centuries in ODIs for West Indies. The regular ODI captain of the side Jason Holder leads the team once again. Kieran Powell, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed are the specialist batsmen in the squad.

All rounder Jonathan Carter who had good outings against Pakistan and England, kept his place safe while Roston Chase gets an another chance in the ODIs. Chase who impressed in test cricket made his ODI debut against Afghanistan recently. Rovman Powell is the other all rounder in the squad.

Ashley Nurse and Devendra Bishoo are the spin options for West Indies. Among two of them, Nurse produced very good performances through out this home season. Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph and Miguel Cummins would offer pace bowling in the series.


WEST INDIES SQUAD (1st and 2nd ODI) :

  • Jason Holder (c)
  • Devendra Bishoo
  • Jonathan Carter
  • Roston Chase
  • Miguel Cummins
  • Shai Hope
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Evin Lewis
  • Jason Mohammed
  • Ashley Nurse
  • Kieran Powell
  • Rovman Powell
  • Kesrick Williams



  • Virat Kohli
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • MS Dhoni
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Yuvraj Singh


The first match is scheduled to begin at 9:30 AM Local | 7 PM IST on coming Friday, 23th June. The next two matches will be played on June 25 and 30. Last two ODIs will be played on July 2 and 6.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seven + eight =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top