New Zealand and Bangladesh are set for a clash in the on-going tri-nation ODI series in Ireland. New Zealand has successfully defeated the host Ireland on Sunday and on the other hand, Bangladesh vs Ireland match was abandoned due to rain. As this is the preparatory series for both the teams ahead of the ICC Champions Trophy, this match is most important for both the teams. New Zealand vs Bangladesh match is scheduled to start at 10:45 AM Local | 3:15 PM IST on Wednesday, 17th May 2017.



With out the regular captain Kane Williamson and some other lead players, New Zealand are playing in the series under the captaincy of Tom Latham. Few uncapped players also got an opportunity to play for the nation on the absence of main players. Seth Rance and Scott Kuggeleijn are the new comers to the New Zealand squad. The team has registered their first success on the tour against Ireland on Sunday. George Worker, Ross Taylor and Neil Broom are the players who had scored half centuries against Ireland. Bowling all rounder Mitchell Santner picker fifer with bowl along with another all rounder Scott Kuggeleijn who picked 3 wickets on a debut. In the end, New Zealand has won that game by 51 runs. Former captain Ross Taylor is the most experienced player in this squad.

Captain Tom Latham used to open the innings, in this series he opens along with wicket keeper Luke Ronchi. The veteran wicket keeper played a good innings of 37 off just 26 balls on other day. Tom Latham managed to score only 15 runs in that game. Both of them has to give good start against Bangladesh who are much dangerous side than Ireland. Young all rounder George Worker took his time to score his maiden ODI half-century and he scored at strike rate of 57. He has much better strike rate in domestic cricket and he could bat much quicker to score lot more runs in this series. Ross Taylor also scored half-century in the last game, undoubtedly he is a big key player for New Zealand and senior most player too. Neil Broom who steadied his place in the New Zealand ODI squad in recent months, played an another good knock of 79 off 63 balls with 9 fours and a six. He is expected to play another good innings against Bangladesh.

Colin Munro, the limited overs specialist came too low in the order against Ireland and unfortunately he dismissed for 0 off the first ball. He is a dangerous player, once he find his form. He is also a big impact player for New Zealand in this game. All rounder James Neesham played a handy quick innings in the end of New Zealand innings and he could offer the similar role once again on Wednesday. Among the bowling efforts, Scott Kuggeleijn impressed with his 3 for 41 runs in 9 overs spell on his debut. He bowled so well in the domestic matches, expected him to continue the good work against Bangladesh. Another debutant Seth Rance picked a wicket for 44 runs in 9th over. He might get an another chance to expose his talents more. Mitchell Santner bowled his career best limited overs spell on Sunday and picked 5 for 50 in his 10 overs. He could be a danger bowler for the opponents on Wednesday. Leg spinner Ish Sodhi also picked a wicket in that last game. Changes are not expected as New Zealand does not want to change their winning combination.



The series was not kick started in the way that Bangladesh wanted. Their series opener against Ireland was abandoned after 31 overs had been bowled. The rain might saved the game for the Asian team. Bangladesh had some poor start with the bat as Bangladesh lost 2 early wickets inside 4 overs and lost first 4 wickets for 70 runs in 15 overs. The experienced opener Tamim Iqbal was the only batsman who survived until the rain came and stopped the play. Tamim’s opening partner Soumya Sarkar who found his form back in recent times, failed with just 5 runs. He should wake-up and steady his chances in the XI. If he continue to play poor innings, Imrul Kayes would replaces him in the XI. Tamim Iqbal stood not out with 64 runs off 88 balls with 8 boundaries. He is expected to continue his consistent batting in the series.

Sabbir Rahman had an wonderful warm-up match before that clash against Ireland. He scored match winning century in warm-up, but scored 0 against Ireland. He has a bright chance to play a handy knock against New Zealand on Wednesday. Wicket keeper Mushfiqur Rahim was promoted in the batting order and batted at no. 4 in that game. He started well with lot of positiveness, but unfortunately he dismissed for 13 runs off 17 balls. The star all rounder Shakib al Hasan led the team in that match as their regular captain Mashrafe Mortaza faced one match ban for slow over-rate. Shakib also started well, then failed to convert the start into big score. He managed to score only 14 runs in that game. Shakib is the most important all rounder in the group and he needs deliver the goods against New Zealand on Wednesday. Mahmudullah who used to bat at no. 4, came at no. 6 in that previous game. After losing 4 wickets inside 15 overs, Mahmudullah’s stand with Tamim was a crucial for Bangladesh. Mahmudullah remained unbeaten when the rain spoiled the game and he scored 43 not out off 56 balls. Mahmudullah has crucial role to play on Wednesday.

Among the bowling unit, Mashrafe Mortaza will return to the side after that one match ban. As their captain returns to the side, either Mehedi Hasan or Rubel Hossain would make a way for him. As Shakib al Hasan and Mosaddek Hossain would offer spin bowling, Mehedi Hasan could be a man who sits out for his captain. Young left-arm seamer Mustafizur Rahman and Taskin Ahmed are expected to be in the XI and offers quality pace attack along with Mashrafe on Wednesday. If Rubel also keeps his place safe, then Bangladesh would approach this game with 4 pace bowlers and spinner Shakib al Hasan along with part-timers Mosaddek and Mahmudullah.




  • Ross Taylor
  • Tom Latham
  • George Worker
  • Luke Ronchi
  • Colin Munro
  • Scott Kuggeleijn
  • James Neesham
  • Mithell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi



  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Mushfiqur Rahim
  • Mahmudullah
  • Soumya Sarkar
  • Sabbir Rahman
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Mashrafe Mortaza
  • Taskin Ahmed
  • Mustafizur Rahman




1. Luke Ronchi, 2. Tom Latham, 3. George Worker, 4. Ross Taylor, 5. Colin Munro, 6. Neil Broom, 7. James Neesham, 8. Scott Kuggeleijn, 9. Mitchell Santner, 10. Seth Rance / Neil Wagner, 11. Ish Sodhi.



1. Tamim Iqbal, 2. Soumya Sarkar, 3. Sabbir Rahman, 4. Mahmudullah, 5. Shakib Al Hasan, 6. Mushfiqur Rahim, 7. Mosaddek Hossain, 8. Mashrafe Mortaza, 9. Mehedi Hasan / Rubel Hossain, 10. Taskin Ahmed, 11. Mustafizur Rahman.


Pick your Successive lineups and WIN in all your Fantasy Cricket Leagues!! Best Wishes to ALL!!




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 − 15 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top