IPL News

IPL-2017 – Purple Cap (Most Wicket Takers) List – Latest Updates!

We just witnessed an entertaining and action packed Preliminary round of matches in the on-going IPL season. The history making season 10, nearing the Grand Final and just three more matches are remaining in the season including the Final. So, we are giving you the clear picture of the bowlers who are all in the race to win the Purple Cap this season.

The Purple Cap winner of last year, Bhuvneshwar is still lead the most wicket takers list with 25 wickets. If he performs well in the knock-out matches and leads the list until the end of the season, he will be in the record books as the first bowler to win the Purple Cap in two consecutive years. Bhuvneshwar has taken total of 25 wickets in 13 innings and as his team Sunrisers Hyderabad advances to Playoffs, he has bright chances to win it once again.

The left-arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat who is playing for Rising Pune Supergiant, picked 22 wickets in just 11 innings. He did not get chances to be in RPS XI for the first four matches. Once he came into the XI, he started to make a name for himself straightaway. Since then, Unadkat became the best wicket taking bowler of RPS this season. His best figures were 5 for 30 against Sunrisers Hyderabad and that figures includes an Hat-Trick.

Mitchell McClenaghan from Mumbai Indians offers left-arm pace bowling. He is in the third position of most wicket takers list with 19 wickets in 14 matches. His economy rate is around 10 runs per over, but he used to pick wickets regularly for his team. His best figure was 3/24. If MI wins Qualifier 2, McClenaghan would get two more matches to pick wickets and stay in the race.

Rising Pune Supergiant’s leg-spinner Imran Tahir is at no. 4 in the list. He has taken 18 wickets in 12 matches, but as he left to South Africa for national duties, he might go down in the list at end of the season. The 18-year old leggie from Afghanistan, Rashid Khan is the second Sunrisers Hyderabad bowler in the list and he is at no. 5 in the list right now. He picked total of 17 wickets in 13 matches with the best figures of 3/19.

Kolkata Knight Riders’s all rounder Chris Woakes and Kings XI Punjab pacer Sandeep Sharma are in sixth and seventh place respectively. Chris Woakes from England has taken 17 wickets in 13 matches, but he left to England to join his national squad. Sandeep Sharma who struggled in the first half of the season, came back well in later matches and picked total of 17 wickets in 13 matches. As his team is not qualified for playoffs, Sandeep has finished his season with 17 wickets.

Both Pawan Negi and Siddharth Kaul has taken 16 scalps in the season and they are in the top 10 wicket takers list by placing at 8 and 9. Pawan Negi from Royal Challengers Bangalore had a best economy compare to the other bowlers in the top 10 list. He picked 16 wickets in 12 matches, but as his team is not qualified, Negi’s IPL campaign in this season ended with 16 wickets.

Siddhath Kaul is another Sunrisers Hyderabad bowler and he picked 16 wickets in just 9 matches. Sunrisers Hyderabad has 3 knockout matches to be played possibly. Therefore Kaul has a bright chances compare to others and he might go inside top 3 of the list, if SRH qualifies for the Final.

Tenth place in the list goes to Axar Patel. Kings XI Punjab’s all rounder had a good season and picked 15 wickets in 14 matches. He also contributed for his team with bat in the season. Jasprit Bumrah from Mumbai Indians is at 12 in the list, but as MI possibly has 2 more matches, Bumrah would come inside the top 10 list.



Player Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ SR 4 5
B Kumar 13 13 51.2 0 358 25 5/19 14.32 6.97 12.3 0 1
JD Unadkat 11 11 41.5 3 303 22 5/30 13.77 7.24 11.4 0 1
MJ McClenaghan 14 14 54.0 0 507 19 3/24 26.68 9.38 17.0 0 0
Imran Tahir 12 12 47.0 0 369 18 3/18 20.50 7.85 15.6 0 0
Rashid Khan 13 13 52.0 0 347 17 3/19 20.41 6.67 18.3 0 0
CR Woakes 13 13 44.0 0 386 17 3/6 22.70 8.77 15.5 0 0
Sandeep Sharma 13 13 48.0 0 398 17 4/20 23.41 8.29 16.9 1 0
P Negi 12 12 32.1 0 197 16 3/10 12.31 6.12 12.0 0 0
S Kaul 9 9 34.4 0 286 16 4/29 17.87 8.25 13.0 1 0
AR Patel 14 14 48.0 0 362 15 3/11 24.13 7.54 19.2 0 0



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 − 14 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top