Purple Cap in IPL 2017: List of leading wicket-takers of Indian Premier League 10!

Purple Cap is for the bowler who takes highest number of wickets in an Indian Premier League (IPL) season. Currently, Sunrisers Hyderabad fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who won the Purple Cap for the first time in 2016 IPL, is holding the Purple Cap for claiming maximum wickets in the ongoing Indian Premier League.  The seamer has claimed five wickets against Kings XI Punjab. With his maiden five-wicket haul in T20 cricket now he has 15 wickets in five matches.

The second position is held by Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s Afghan teammate Rashid Khan who has nine wickets in five-match at an economy rate of 7.25. The 19-year-old spinner has already sported the Purple Cap before Rising Pune Supergiant’s leg-spinner Imran Tahir snatched it from him. The cap has returned to Sunrisers Hyderabad’s squad as Bhuvneshwar Kumar put up a great show with the white ball in hand.

The third position is occupied by Delhi Daredevils’ passionate South Africa fast bowler Chris Morris who has taken eight wickets in four matches. At the fourth place, Pune’s Tahir enlightened the list with eight wickets in five-match.

At the fifth place, Gujarat Lions’ Australian fast bowler Andrew Tye showed promise to produce some good spells in the ongoing IPL. Tye has taken the second hat-trick of the IPL with knuckle balls. He has taken seven wickets in two matches. He has already taken a fifer in his first match.

Other bowlers who have taken seven wickets so far are Delhi Daredevils fast bowlers Pat Cummins and Zaheer Khan. Both of them played four matches each. Alongside them, Mumbai Indians’ last year’s highest wicket taking Black Cap fast bowler Mitchell McClenaghan too has seven wickets in five matches.

The ninth and tenth positions were held by Kings XI Punjab spinner Axar Patel, who has six wickets in five matches, and Kolkata Knight Riders’ fast bowler Chris Woakes, who also took as many wickets in as many matches of Patel.

Meanwhile, the first Purple Cap of IPL was won by Pakistan fast bowler Sohail Tanveer who took 22 wickets in 11 matches while playing for Rajasthan Royals. West Indies cricketer Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap twice, most in the history of IPL. He is also the highest wicket taker in a season with 32 wickets in 18 matches. The other Purple Cap winners are R.P Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel and Mohit Sharma.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − 14 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top