Fantasy Previews


Ireland’s tour of Asia begins with two match ODI series against United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.) followed by series against Afghanistan in India later this month. The first One-Day International match between U.A.E. vs Ireland is scheduled to start at 10 AM Local | 11:30 AM IST on Thursday, 2nd March 2017.


U.A.E. :

The team U.A.E. is heading to this two match series after that consecutive wins over Scotland and Hong Kong in tri-nations series in January. All Rounder and opening Batsman Rohan Mustafa led the team in that previous series and he will captaining the side once again against Ireland. U.A.E. has mixed of experienced and young talents in their 14-member squad for this ODI series. Experienced batsman Shaiman Anwar is in the squad along with batsmen Adnan Mufti, Mohammad Qasim, Mohammad Usman, Rameez Shehzad and Laxman Sreekumar. Except Anwar, all other batsmen were played very few ODI matches so far, in their career and this series would turnout as better opportunities for them to establish their talents. Ghulam Shabber, the wicket-keeper who made his ODI debut in recent tri-series would do gloves work in this series. The squad has plenty of bowlers in it, Mohammad Naveed would lead the bowling attack in the series. Qadeer Ahmed, Imran Haider, Zahoor Khan and Ahmed Raza are the other bowlers in the squad to face Ireland. Former captain and all rounder Amjad Javed is also in the squad and he is a key factor for U.A.E.. Skipper Rohan Mustafa is an another all rounder who would make big impact with his all round performances in this two match series. Rohan Mustafa is expected to open the innings along with Mohammad Qasim who opened the innings in recent tri-series. The unchanged XI are expected to play on Thursday from their last ODI vs Hong Kong back in January. That means, Rameez Shahzad, Laxman Sreekumar and Qadeer Ahmed are the players might misses out in Playing XI on Thursday.



Ireland has sent strong 14-members squad to U.A.E. to play in this two match ODI series. Plenty of experienced players are named in the squad. Irish regular skipper William Porterfield will lead the side on this series too. Andrew Balbirnie who was injured almost throughout this on-going season is back to national squad and he will take guard in U.A.E. Ed Joyce and wicket-keeper batsman Gary Wilson are the other experienced batsmen in the squad of Ireland. Niall O’Brien is back in the team after suffering injuries for several months and he would handle the wicket-keeper job on the tour. Niall’s brother and Star all rounder of Irish team, Kevin O’Brien is a big key factor of Ireland and he has companies of Paul Sterling and Stuart Thompson to do all rounder’s duties. As U.A.E. pitches supports spinners, Ireland has their valuable spinners Andy McBrine and George Dockrell in their squad and the spin duo is expected to play in both the matches. Jacob Mulder, the leg spinner who picked 10 wickets in 5 innings during Desert T20 Challenge back in January, is also in the squad as a 3rd spinner. The squad has some experienced and talented youngsters in their pace bowling attack, they have Tim Murtagh, Craig Young and the recent sensation of Ireland’ pace attack Barry McCarthy in the squad. Ireland’s last ODI appearance was in September 2016 against Australia in South Africa. As lot of changes are made in this squad when compare to the XI which faced Australia, minimum of 4 changes are expected on Thursday.



U.A.E. :

  • Shaiman Anwar
  • Amjad Javed
  • Rohan Mustafa
  • Muhammad Usman
  • Mohammed Qasim
  • Mohammad Naveed
  • Zahoor Khan
  • Imran Haider
  • Adnan Mufti



  • Kevin O’Brien
  • Ed Joyce
  • William Porterfield
  • Paul Sterling
  • Gary Wilson
  • George Dockrell
  • Tim Murtagh
  • Barry McCarthy
  • Andy McBrine
  • Jacob Mulder



U.A.E. :

1. Rohan Mustafa, 2. Mohammed Qasim, 3. Shaiman Anwar, 4. Ghulam Shabber, 5. Muhamamd Usman, 6. Amjad Javed, 7. Adnan Mufti, 8. Mohammad Naveed, 9. Zahoor Khan, 10. Imran Haider, 11. Ahmed Raza.



1. William Porterfield, 2. Paul Sterling, 3. Ed Joyce, 4. Gary Wilson, 5. Niall O’Brien / Andrew Balbirnie, 6. Kevin O’Brien, 7. Stuart Thompson, 8. George Dockrell / Jacob Mulder, 9. Andy McBrine, 10. Barry McCarthy, 11. Tim Murtagh / Chris Young.



  • U.A.E. – Amjad Javed, Rohan Mustafa, Zahoor Khan and Shaiman Anwar
  • Ireland – Kevin O’Brien, William Porterfield, Andy McBrine and Barry McCarthy.


Play Well! Best Wishes to All your Fantasy Cricket Leagues!!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × three =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top