Fantasy Previews


New Zealand’s McDonald’s Super Smash T20 Tournament – Season 2016/17 comes to an end on Saturday with the Grand Final match between Central Stags vs Wellington Firebirds. Six teams were participated in the tournament and these two teams proven as best than others and now both the teams set ready to go one last time to crown a championship of the season. The Final match is scheduled to start at 4:10 PM Local | 8:40 AM IST on Saturday, 7th January, 2017.

Central Districts franchise, Central Stags dominated this season from the very beginning of the tournament. Stags top placed of points table with 30 points at NRR of +0.734. They won 7 matches out of 10 encounters during round robin and ended at top with the difference of 10 points ahead. Ex. Captain of Sri Lanka, Mahela Jayawardena turned out as a big pillar of this Stags side. He started to perform well from the very first match he had played in the season. All Rounder and opening batsman George Worker also played his role well in the season with both bat and bowl. Blackcaps Ross Taylor joined the team in later part of Round Robin and smashed all over the park in the both innings he batted. But, he is not named in the squad for Grand Final on Saturday. Another hard-hitting batsman Jesse Ryder is back in the squad and he will play in the middle-order. Captain Will Young, Ben Smith and other batters should join in the party to confirm a big total on the board. Bowlers Seth Rance and Blair Tickner were dominated the opponents throughout the tournament. The same both of them need to do for one more time to crown a title on this big day. Ajaz Patel and Navin Patel are named in the 13-men squad. Any one of these two players might get chance to take guard on Final day. Stags needs to show one more dominating performances on Saturday to take a title with them.

Wellington Firebirds started the tournament in poor passion. They lost first four matches in row and then, they came back so strong and registered 5 wins in 6 remaining matches they played. With that outstanding comeback, Firebirds qualified to preliminary final by climbing the second place in the points ladder and they earned 20 points during Round Robin stage. Firebirds defeated Canterbury Kings in the pre-final and advances to final by winning it by 3 wickets. Brilliant opening partnerships between captain Hamish Marshall and Michael Papps pushed Firebirds into winning ways. The two openers performed consistently throughout the tournament. Experienced Grant Elliott in the side and helps the team mentally too. Jeetan Patel, Michael Pollard, Stephen Murdoch and Brent Arnel, everyone contributed well for the team at critical situations in the tournament. Those players needs to step up once again to bring the title to their team. Tom Blundell – Wicket keeper batsman got a maiden call to Blackcaps to play a T20I against Bangladesh on Sunday. Before joins national side, he will take part in this Grand Final and immediately will move to New Zealand squad. These two exciting teams competing for one last time in the season to take a title with them.



  • Mahela Jayawardena
  • George Worker
  • Jesse Ryder
  • Blair Tickner
  • Seth Rance
  • Ben Smith
  • Will Young
  • Dane Cleaver
  • Josh Clarkson
  • Marty Kain



  • Hamish Marshall
  • Michael Papps
  • Grant Elliott
  • Stephen Murdoch
  • Jeetan Patel
  • Brent Arnel
  • Michael Pollard
  • Tom Blundell
  • Anurag Verma
  • Luke Woodcock




1. George Worker, 2. Mahela Jayawardena, 3. Jesse Ryder, 4. Will Young, 5. Dane Cleaver, 6. Josh Clarkson, 7. Marty Kain, 8. Ryan McCone, 9. Seth Rance, 10. Blair Tickner, 11. Ajaz Patel / Navin Patel.


1. Michael Papps, 2. Hamish Marshall, 3. Tom Blundell, 4. Grant Elliott, 5. Michael Pollard / Stephen Murdoch, 6. Matt Taylor, 7. Luke Woodcock, 8. Jeetan Patel, 9. Anurag Verma / Peter Younghusband, 10. Hamish Bennett, 11. Brent Arnel.


Best Wishes to All Fantasy Cricket Players!! Happy Weekend!


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eleven + 16 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top