Facebook, Twitter and Amazon eyes on IPL Rights!

Recently, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced tender for Indian Premier League’s television and digital rights for the period of 2018-2027. The surprising and shocking news are, Social Media leaders Facebook and Twitter also bought the Invitation to Tender (ITT) document for the next cycle of IPL Television and Digital rights!

Sony Pictures Network India grabbed television rights in the year 2008 which was an inaugural edition of IPL. Their 10-year contracts expires with upcoming 10th season of IPL in 2017.

BCCI decided to go with the same time period of 10 years for Television rights (only for Indian sub-continent), which starts from the year 2018 and will expires in 2027. BCCI also announced that they are releasing tender for Digital rights and it’s for 5 years period, that means it will expires in 2022. The last date for submitting the bid is October 25, 2016.

BCCI President Anurag Thakur said he was pleased with the responses. He added, “With the global trends of showcasing content on multiple platforms becoming increasingly important – TV, internet and mobile rights are up for grabs together this time”.

Total of 18 companies were shown interest and bought the Invitation to Tender and they supposed to submit their bid on or before October 25th. The surprising elements are major non-television entities like Social Media giants Facebook and Twitter are participating in the race. Major Online Shopping company in the world, Amazon also bought ITT. The company who created revolution in mobile networking industry in India recently, Reliance Jio Digital Services bought ITT too. These major companies who are all known as non-television organizations, looking to enter in the field with this opportunity.

The list of 18 companies, who bought ITT and in race to grab IPL rights are follows!



  1. Star India
  2. Sony Pictures Network
  3. ESPN Digital Media
  4. Facebook
  5. Twitter
  6. Amazon
  7. Followon Interactive Media
  8. Taj TV India
  9. GroupM Media India
  10. Econet Media
  11. Sky UK
  12. BT PLC
  13. Gulf DTH
  14. Times Internet
  15. Supersport International
  16. BeIN IP
  17. BTG Legal Services
  18. Reliance Jio Digital Services


Soon, we will come to know who gonna rule IPL from Season – 11!!


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four − 3 =

Most Popular

Fantasy Cricket News (FCN) is a non-biased news site dedicated to providing you with the latest fantasy cricket news and information. It is our mission to be the premier source of all fantasy cricket information which will allow you to maximize your winnings on all daily fantasy cricket websites.

If you’d like to be a guest writer on FCN, do not hesitate to contact us. We’d love to see your best stuff!!

Like FCN

Follow FCN

Copyright © 2016 Fantasy Cricket News | All Rights Reserved

To Top